1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

First Time Droid (Rezound) User Here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by thomamon, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For years I have been an iPhone user and often have thought about adding a second phone so I can check out the Droid. I was unhappy with my MiFi from Verizon so they made me an offer and I made the plunge and took Verizon up on their offer and added the Rezound to my collection. I now have two phones, an iPhone 4S and the Rezound. I'm so excited about this!

    Since I know little about droids and was fooling around with it tonight, I have a few questions.

    1) Is there a page to see all your apps that have updates?
    2) Is there a way to check what version of the Google Navigation is installed?
    3) Can you suggest some apps, maybe something not on iPhone, that I should check out ASAP?

    Thanks so much and looking forward to being part of the community.
  2. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Welcome to the forums! :) You may wanna check out this section for more in depth help: HTC Rezound
  3. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, wasn't sure which to post it in. Figured since I was new, would try here first :)
  4. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    That's fine, this is the introduction thread so you started off right! :) Did you get all your questions answered yet?
  5. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think so... Now I am having problems wondering why it won't notify me when things happen. For example I have google chat set up, but if someone sends me a message and I am not using it, it doesn't make a sound to notify me...
  6. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    You mean Gtalk? Open Gtalk/Settings/Scroll down to notifications.
  7. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Check your notification bar on the top of the phone, also go into settings and check the boxes that apply for notification sounds.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
  8. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have it set to Guitar... But no luck :(
  9. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My settings are all set for notifications, but not making any noises to notify me. My volume is up as well. Very frustrating...
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    what a great phone collection you've got now! welcome to the forums, just got a Rezound myself the other day and really enjoy it...
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    go to settings>sound>volume and make sure the notification volume is up along with the ringtone volume (or check the box that syncs them up)
  12. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you tell me how to make it play sounds for my notifications? I am so confused. It is not making sounds and I don't see anything popping up or in notification center when I get a new IM...
  13. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are all up...
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    do ANY notifications work? like texts? Or if you go into settings>sound>notifications - as you click on different ones, do they make any sounds?
  15. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They do not... I found that odd when I was trying to set one...

    The other odd thing is if I go to volumes and I set the volume for Ringtones, Media or Alarm it plays a sound as I adjust them. When I do it for notifications, NOTHING
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    but ringtones work fine? and other phone sounds?

    edit: nevermind... sounds like that's the case based on that last part of that last post...
  17. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    That's definitely not normal - I hate to suggest this, but unless you have some app that's messing with notification sounds, or you temp-rooted (permanent root isn't available yet) and messed with the notification sounds, I'm not sure what else to suggest... but try a factory reset... :huh:
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I guess one more thing you could check - does it change anything if you have the headphones in? Or does it still act the same?
  19. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't rooted anything... I will try with headphones now. Also, can I power down the phone and reboot?
  20. thomamon
    Offline

    thomamon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Headphones don't make a difference...