First attempt at flashing a ROM = Fail

Discussion in 'Droid X Rooted Help' started by Garemlin, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. Godfather

    Godfather Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my phone this afternoon, installed rom manager, ran flashworkmod recovery, did a nandroid backup and tried to install a rom through rom manger, my phone re-booted with the exclamation point and when I get to the main screen...I dont have an option to restore. I have "reboot system now" wipe date/factory reset" "wipe cache partition" and wipe baseband data"....Am I screwed....please help!!
     
  2. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +403
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Yup that is exactly what I am getting. I don't think anything is going to be wrong. It just didn't flash the ROM. That is what I am trying to get resolved.
     
  3. Godfather

    Godfather Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0

    A very smart man told me I need to follow this link to correct the problem..
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    may i suggest flashing SPRecovery on your droid (i dont like CW) and just download a rom file from the hacks section on here.

    you probably will have to do a wipe data/cache but it will give you a fresh install and no problems (use titanium backup or Mybackup pro to save apps/settings)
     
  5. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +403
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    When you say a wipe data/cache do you mean a factory reset???
     
  6. fish1552

    fish1552 Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Ratings:
    +17
    No, in layman's terms, the wipe cache is like clearing your browser history, cookies etc in Windows. Cleans out the remaining chaff to make sure you get a clean install.

    When I flash a new ROM, I always select both the wipe data/factory reset & wipe cache partition options.
    If using the SPRecovery, do those 2 options first, then "install zip from sd card". Or I believe you could even use "apply sdcard:update.zip" as long as the ROM downloaded is in the root of the sd card (meaning /sdcard file path - not in any folders on the sd card).

    You could also mount your SD card and browse to /sdcard/clockworkmod/download/ and look for the location where your ROM is downloaded and copy it from there manually.
    As long as the file is renamed to "update.zip" you can use the options in SPRecovery to install it. From there it should tell you when complete.

    If you feel safer following a video, try this one. He does a very good job of showing you each step and explains things well. Go to step 2 if you don't need to SPRecovery part - (though it may not hurt to make sure you followed those steps too)
    How to: Root Android 2.1 and Install Android 2.2 on Motorola DROID | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    Good Luck.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    ..might i also suggest titanium backup. you need root but it will back all apps AND their settings. makes it VERY EASY from going between ROMs n suchh
     
  8. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +403
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Ok now I am a little more confused. Is wipe data/factory reset something that you chose to do before flashing a new ROM or is that something that should be done period. When I asked in the previous post about the wipe data/cache you said that was not a reset.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    before switching roms so there are no problems of them overlapping.

    EDIT: garemlin, i think smalltowngirl gave you my gtalk, feel free to shoot me a message if you still have any questions
     
    #21 Abe21599, Aug 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  10. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +403
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Ok I finally was able to flash the ROM. When it rebooted I am getting constant force closes on a bunch of apps at random. Especially Google Search, Gmail and other Google apps without even opening them. What do I need to do to get this phone back to stock and make it as if I never did any of this. Not liking the results.
     
  11. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you did a Nandroid backup just go back to Clockwork and do a Restore. It should take you back . I had to do it when I installed an incorrect Kernel and got an infinite bootloop.
     
  12. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +403
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    I did a back-up but it won't let me restore it now.
     
Search tags for this page

do i have to factory reset before flashing a new rom

,

everytime i try to flash a rom on lg g2 it fails

,

flashing rom reading zip info fail

,

rom flash droid bionic fail