Firefox Now Automatically Blocks Flash Player

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    [​IMG]

    It looks like several leaders of the software industry have sent out a rallying cry that it's finally time to kill off Adobe Flash Player. Yesterday, Alex Stamos, the new head of software security at Facebook, called out Adobe on Twitter asking them to set an "end of life" date for Flash. Adobe Flash has been infamous for years for having enormous security holes that are basically unfixable. Most of the industry has begun moving to HTML5 for its enhanced security, among other advantages.

    Stamos' rallying cry has been apparently heralded by the folks at Mozilla as Mark Schmidt has come forward this morning with his pitchfork and torch in hand as well. In fact, Schmidt has already taken the first step toward torching Flash by announcing that Firefox will now automatically block any vulnerable version of Flash player (which includes the current one).

    Could 2015 be the year we finally see Flash die?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Yeah, I noticed that. The hard way. You need to expressly allow it on sites using it.
     
  3. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,163
    Likes Received:
    622
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +760
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel XL
    That sucks. I use Firefox for watching...uh...videos -_-, now I have to allow it. Ug!
     
  4. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,377
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,785
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Supposedly temporary, FF blocking.
     
  5. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,810
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    "Update: Adobe has already released a newer version of Flash, 18.0.0.209, which Firefox doesn’t block by default. You’ll want to manually download it." - Gizmodo

    Here's the link in case it didn't copy over
    Adobe - Flash Player


    Tapped from a Nexus 6
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    Ratings:
    +135
    when im using chrome on my laptop i always get the notification that plugin 'flash' has stopped working... smh. and yea yea its up to date
     
  7. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    Ratings:
    +135
    and what type of videos are we talking about sir lol??
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,377
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,785
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Gentlemen don't tell kinfolk. Or ask! Man foul!
    Lol

    TapaTurbo
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Search tags for this page

dead flash