1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Firefox beta for Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Lousan, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. Lousan
    Offline

    Lousan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone I tried to install the Firefox beta for my phone but my carrier AT&T has some kind of block on 3rd party apps
    Is there anyway around this I would really appreciate the help on this

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using DroidForums App

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using DroidForums App
  2. iamasongnow
    Offline

    iamasongnow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    try going into Settings > Applications >
    then check the box that says "Unknown Sources". it will give you a prompt saying something along the lines of "hey, be careful". and then you press ok.

    EDIT: also, firefox beta doesn't work for a lot of people. it freezes after a few seconds of use, so don't freak out and think you have a virus if your phone goes crazy.
  3. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do yourself a favor. DON'T INSTALL IT. It absolutely and utterly sucks ass. Slow, force closes, locks up devices, kills kittens and puppies. USELESS.
  4. Lousan
    Offline

    Lousan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone doesn't have that option to check for unknown

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using DroidForums App
  5. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    And that is correct. I have read that AT&T phones have that option removed. Sorry. Probably just as well according to darkseider.
  6. Bullitt6996
    Offline

    Bullitt6996 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    The issue is actually addressed on the Mozilla website for Firefox Mobile. Apparrently there's a bug with the compatibility for the D1 and they're aware of it. There is a listing of compatible devices if you click on the link, and that is what's stated for the D1. It does say to be ready for a patch on the issue.
  7. Lousan
    Offline

    Lousan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx for the info everyone
    :)
    Samsung SGH-I897