Finally Overclocked!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by mikex, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. mikex

    mikex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My X never seemed to like being overclocked and I spent a lot of time and went through many fc's. But, I kept reading about Over Clock program and decided to give it a try. And, so far its been great. Calculated the settings for my particular phone and now I'm oc'd to 1400 MHz and lowered my vsels to the min which seems to be giving me better battery life. Great program and a must to maximize performance. Just wanted to say thanks to the developer and the people here who've been talking about it.
     
  2. Sbeck

    Sbeck Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also been using QuickClock for a couple of days now, but I find the interface confusing on knowing exactly what speed I'm currently running. I load the High Speed setting but the numbers on the front page seem to toggle back and forth between the low and high!

    Sent from my Rooted/O'Clocked X
     
  3. mikex

    mikex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is a little confusing. After you run the calibration on the first page, you see the max and min. Then you have to go to the over clock page put in the max number (i put in 100 less than my max) and hit calculate then set cpu and you're ready to fly. I'm getting over 1600 quadrant score with no issues.
     
  4. freezyfreaky

    freezyfreaky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your numbers are fluctuating because the CPU governor is set to on demand. What this means is the CPU will speed up when you are doing something and slow down when it is not busy.
     
  5. dirtyfingers

    dirtyfingers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you want your phone to always run at your Max frequency then you would have to change the governor to performance, but on demand would be recommended for everyday use.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  6. Sbeck

    Sbeck Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and how would I go about doing that?

    Sent from my Rooted/O'Clocked X
     
  7. freezyfreaky

    freezyfreaky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You want your CPU governor to be on demand. If you set it to performance, the CPU will be running full speed all the time and kill your battery. The only reason why you would want to set it to performance is if you want to test an overclock speed to see if it's stable on your phone.
     
  8. meoff_69

    meoff_69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is a good place to start as far as voltage/hz's? Im using droidx overclock on stock rom.

    any help is appriciated, i dont want to fry my phone lol
     
  9. dirtyfingers

    dirtyfingers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download quickclock from the market. Then you can find the best settings for YOUR phone without going through the tedious testing process. It is also great for users who are not really sure what they are doing. Well worth the couple bucks plus the Dev is great!

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. meoff_69

    meoff_69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ill give that a shot... thanks
     
Search tags for this page

max overclock milestone 2

,

milestone overclock 1400mhz

,

setting milestone overclock to 1400