Final straw!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by MrHatchi87, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. MrHatchi87

    MrHatchi87 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am NOW officially DONE with this *****g phone! the touch screen has been freaking out like crazy! its annoying! the screen has a mind of its own. I just performed a factory data reset and NOTHING. next step wipe SD card. and SBF back to whatever crappy version to make it stable. I dont have insurance on this thing (long story) any advice? im about a day from turning this into a Frisbee... 10001 pieces of droid on the wall :p


    *** edit ***
    just wiped the SD card, i thought about going into the bootloader and wiping the cache, but i cant, the damn search key wont respond... so the bootloader doesnt do diddly squat!
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  2. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ouch. Bring it to a vzw store and show them it, they usually just quickly ship out a replacement. There are horror stories, yes, but if you think about it, only the lemons get reported. Not many report the good refurbs. Honestly, the refurb I got (and sent back) was perfectly fine, except the previous owner had loosened the usb port. Nothing a diy'er can't fix.
     
  3. MrHatchi87

    MrHatchi87 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    i need to UNroot it and remove the custom boot animation then, and mind you i HATE dealing with verizon reps, let alone customer service. to be honest, i wouldnt mind crossing to the dark side, and getting an Iphone 4/4s. i will leave droid temporarily and come back when its all on ICS lol. im just frustrated.
     
  4. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Check FAQ on how to SBF back, and the once you SBF back, you will need to wipe the cache, and for a Factory Reset, and you will be good to go. It sounds to me like you got a little water in your phone. If that did happen, I wouldn't bring it up at the VZW store. Good Luck, and fell free to PM me if you get lost, or need help.
     
  5. MrHatchi87

    MrHatchi87 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive never had this phone near any water, short of rain outside.... never had any problems until now
     
  6. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Rain outside will do it. I'm not talking about a lot of water. Even a quarter of a drop of water will cause this in the right spot. The method to fixing this is quite cheap and easy actually. Put your phone in a big or rice, and let it sit in there over night and see if that helps. Also, did you do ANYTHING at all to the phone before this started happening? Both physically and software.
     
  7. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    read the FAQs thread or Droid wiki

    Stock Recovery has changed with GB
    When you see the green android and the triangle with the ! Comes up press both the up and down volume buttons at the same time and the Recovery menu should come up.
     
  8. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Good catch mib! I completely missed that!
     
  9. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you have a screen protector on it? Mine started freaking out, took it off and was much better. Also, if you were on GB then ofc the search key didnt do anything. They changed it to using the volume buttons (hold both down where you would have pressed search).
     
  10. MrHatchi87

    MrHatchi87 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had a screen protector on this thing since day one out of the box. hell, it had one on there before it was ever turned on. i used the OEM protectors from Verizon. Needless to say, I'm gonna SBF to whatever version i can, make it look stock and take it in to Verizon to ***** them out. i checked the water indicator and its normal so its not gonna show signs of foul play or tampering. the SD card is clean and so will the phone, it will just look like its OEM. Its been a great phone the whole time since last Christmas... until this week. damn it. i will see if i can get them to replace it outright, none of this refurbished crap, new or im gone. I will try the rice thing tonight, or tomorrow. i can twist arms if need be :) thanks for the heads up themib :) frustration at its worst :mad: I will see if i can get a new phone all together, convince my finance to put it on our credit and pay it off. might get the galaxy nexus or an iphone or the razr
     
  11. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Keep your SD card. They don't ask for it. That's how my D2G has a 16GB sd! :D
     
  12. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mine had a screen protector on it before it was activated too. Try taking it off and giving it an hr or 2 before taking it back. It helped a TON. Just an idea though...

    They will more than likely upgrade you rather than giving you the same device at this point. I know several people that have gotten DINC2's or D3's instead of D2G's back.
     
  13. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Angel, can you confirm that? If so, I may need to use my techie skills and ruin my D2G and get a droid 3! :D
     
  14. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, people have said that on this forum. Sort of to be expected as stocks of the old phone dwindle. But nothing to say that you won't be one of the "lucky" ones to get a refurb D2G that doesn't quite work!
     
  15. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    That would totally be my luck. I'm joining the AF soon, so if I could snag a new D3 on the way out, that wwould just make me so happy. Sorry for the hijack.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global screen flaky

,

droid 2 screen has a mind of its own

,

droid 2 screen has mind of its own

,

droid 2 screen mind of its own