Few questions from a droid noob

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Plainzwalker, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    You raise some good points, actually. :)

    The D2 is still kicking. Last I knew you can get D2s for like $149 with a new contract.
     
  2. brianr0131

    brianr0131 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    Ok Good to know. I've been reading up a little since I am moving to D2G from D1 (temporarily) my D1 is broken and I have 2 upgrades on account. I got D2G for 50 bucks so i'll use it until late Jan/mid Feb when something better (hopefully dual core) comes out then I'll give D2G to wifey.

    I just assumed they were the same as far as ROMS etc. I'm a little bummed to find out that all of the new Moto droids are not fully rootable because of the locked bootloader. But, wireless tether and vanilla android will keep me happy for a couple months.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Blur is FAR from vanilla Android. :D

    But, this is off topic. Sorry for the threadjack! :)

    [​IMG]
     
  4. brianr0131

    brianr0131 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0

    The rom(s) available for D2G are vanilla though. Right? That's what I was referring to. I think we're veering back towards topic a little. LOL
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Pretty much. Development will continue till we get the same variety we have on the X (maybe; the X seems to be the more preferred device), but when it comes right down to it a ROM for the X/2/Pro/Variants is basically nothing more than a glorified theme. :)

    And yes, we're kind of getting back on topic.

    To reiterate; there is one SBF, it has been released, but you have to pay for and download the Team Black Hat app from the market in order to get it at this moment.

    Now we're back. :D
     
  6. Plainzwalker

    Plainzwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so task killer = bad (for the most part) and romanced dangerous for the most part. So I'll just stick with rooting and tethering for now then.

    Thank you very much. I can't wait to get the phones so I can actually start messing with them.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Pretty much. ROMs are fine once we get more of them and the SBF in the open. :) Basically you just need to get it and play for a while then wait.

    Oh, and you can (and probably should) install a replacement launcher as soon as you get the device. I recommend ADW and ADW EX. Launcher Pro might have more "stuff" to go with it, but ADW handles memory a bit better.
     
  8. wilboy

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    For me task killer isn't bad at all.Actually it doen't kill the application,it's just closes the applications that was running on the background...rather than tapping the back button.This task killer helps me for watching movies/videos that uses too much battery/memory,it helps at least...on my experienced!
     
    #20 wilboy, Jan 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  9. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Automated task killing is bad.

    Periodically, though, having a task killer that is easy to use is nice.
    Its kind of a hassle to head through three or four layers of menus to kill an app when you could tap a widget on your homescreen.
    I did that sometimes with stock rom on my original droid because of the crappy RAM situation. I'm doing it with my archos for the same reason.

    I have atk on my archos set to ignore a lot of apps, all of my widget apps, and I can't even see my system apps. Then I'm using Startup Auditor to prevent most apps from restarting on their own.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App