Few questions from a droid noob

Plainzwalker

Reaction score
I recently ordered 2 Droid 2 globals, for my wife and I. I have been using an iPhone for about 2 years now and she has been using one for about 6 months. I've always had a jail broken iPhone so naturally I plan on rooting the droids when they arrive on Monday. My questions, and please let me know if they are inappropriate for this forum, are as follows:
1) where would be a good place to find rooms for the D2G? Or will D2 roms work as well?
2) is there just 1 sbf or are there different flavors like roms?

I had one more about wifi tethering but I'll prolly do the research on that one myself.

Thank you.

wilboy

Reaction score
1) where would be a good place to find rooms for the D2G? Or will D2 roms work as well?
You're on a right track!....Nope!
2) is there just 1 sbf or are there different flavors like roms?
SBF will release to the public in a couple of days(2.4.29 i think).As of now,we have only one working full rom(FISSION).

Last edited:

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
When the full sbf comes out (shortly) there will be more ROMs available for the D2G. In the meantime, you can still root and get the Wireless Tether going but, I'd be extremely cautious about ROMs for now, IMHO.

DroidForums junkie!!

OP
P

Plainzwalker

Reaction score
So after I root and make any changes to the phone will these be reset after I load a rom? Correct me if I'm wrong, but rooms are equivalent to custom firmwares correct?

I already have a few apps I was told are must haves like advanced app killer, are there any others besides the obvious at most people recommend?

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
Unless you get an app like Titanium Backup, yes because you'll be wiping data and cache before installing a ROM.

Task killers are not needed with Android devices and usually cause more problems than anything.