Feature Requests for SS 2.0.2

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by hughesjr, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. hughesjr

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ChevyNo1, thank you very much for a very good ROM.

    There are a couple of things that you could add to make this the best ROM available:

    1. Bash shell with colorized directory colors and auto completion.

    2. The tun.ko tunnel module (required for openvpn and other VPN software)
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hey hughesjr, thanks for the suggestions. I am quite sure I saw another post here on DF that stated tun.ko was present and working, but there was one other thing that needed to be set ... have you tried a search on tun.ko to see what turns up?

    Also on the bash shell ... I agree it was cool in terminal emulator on the phone, but I do most of my work via adb shell ... and the bash shell just f'd it up from the DOS prompt big time ... not sure if others feel the same way or not.
     
  3. hughesjr

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    DOS ... there's your problem :D

    I use Linux only as my workstation :D

    I did look for tun.ko in /system/lib/modules ... I did not see it. The kernel version number is probably OK to use the tun.ko that is out there as an addon though.
     
  4. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    LOL, true, true ;) But since I use this same computer for everything, I run ubuntu in a virtual machine ... Windows is the host.

    Not to mention, I suspect 90% of the users out there do NOT go through Linux, therefore wouldn't see a need for the bash shell.

    If I get to the point of doing a tgz I might bring that in.

    As far as tun.ko ... it is compiled directly into the kernel, it is not a loadable module ...
     
  5. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy, besides tun.ko, did you happen to compile cifs.ko also? I'm looking for a kernel with both of these, and I'm surprised I haven't found one.
     
  6. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Try this - rename to .ko
     
  7. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I assume this is compiled just for your kernel? I'm currently running SG5 and I couldn't load it.

    I'll do a back up, install 2.0.2, reload and try it out.
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    You are correct - let me know if it works for you
     
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Some have stated they'd like to have the module (ko) and not compiled into the kernel, here's tun.ko
     
  10. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    works perfectly, well except the fact that I have to load it on every boot, and remount.

    Is there any way I could run like a init.d script on startup or something like that?
     
  11. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am guessing that if it were compiled in, it would be automatic right?
     
  12. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it would, but I would still have to remount the shares every time I rebooted.
     
  13. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    To get it into an init script would involve modifying the ramdisk ... which I can do, but have only done basic stuff thus far.
     
  14. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I understand. If you could keep it in the back of your mind.

    Being able to boot up the phone, automatically connect to my VPN, and auto mount shares would be awesome.

    For the time being I guess writing a shell script would do. Thank you for your help.
     
  15. neonerz

    neonerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to double post, but I did just find an issue. ifconfig isn't reporting any info, so tunneldroid fails when trying to setup a VPN connection.

     
Search tags for this page

chevy's ss rom, ver 2.02

,
tun.ko module 2.3.4 bionic