FDR Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by DB_Tae, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. DB_Tae

    DB_Tae New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm just wondering EXACTLY what gets deleted from my phone if I do a Factory Data Reset. For example, will my contacts still be there? (Assuming that I don't also delete my Internal Storage, but in case I do, would I have to move all of my contacts to my SD card)?
     
  2. mattjenn

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Contacts should be linked to Google account or backup asst so when you restore they should as well after you sign in
     
  3. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +587
    If you do the FDR, (maybe even more than once to be certain) and you don't set it back up with your account, everything is gone but the current version of Android and stock apps. Once you set it back up, with the same account and also tell it to sync with Google, all the previously installed apps should be available and contracts will sync with the cloud. If Google had been syncing correctly before, some other settings will also come back like previous WiFi connections.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Suuperflie

    Suuperflie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    People make a big deal about fdr like its such a pain to do, but it only takes a few mins to set everything back up the way it was. You may have to re-setup your widgets, that's it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    • Like Like x 1
  6. rcblate

    rcblate Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just did a FDR. It only took a minute to do. The painful part was that my apps did not download automatically as they did in a previous FDR. Is there a setting that makes this automatic? That was a painful experience to manually re download over 130 apps! They where attached to my gmail account but just would not download by themselves.....

    Phone seems to be working better which was the goal in the first place.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +587
    Make certain you have the correct Google account, then open the Play Store app. tap the settings button lower left - then settings and check auto update
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. rcblate

    rcblate Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I must admit, phone is working much better after FDR. Vzw also fixed my network extender which was messed up and gave me a new sim card for the phone. All in, it was a successful weekend w/vzw and the bionic. Angst level very low at the moment!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    thanks for the good news! Always great to hear success stories.

    sent from my Note2 using tapatalk 4 beta
     
  10. Dalvik_Cache

    Dalvik_Cache DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Central US
    Ratings:
    +125
    It always takes me forever, but I have to root it, install Tasker install SL4A, all my shell scripts, setup my VPN connection, import all my scripts, etc. So, I don't care for wiping very much. Its a huge PITA.
     
Search tags for this page
android central bionic fdr forum
,
asus tf700 fdr
,

fdr

,
fdr for samsung note 2
,
fdr question
,
fdr s4
,
how to fdr s4
,
how to to an fdr droid bionic
,
s4 fdr
,
samsung s4 fdr