FAQ Thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Jonas, Oct 30, 2011.

  1. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    it was a question
    i sbfed when i was on 606 and couldn't get 607 or 608 to install
    but i guess most of the time bootloader will be used when bootlooping

    and I didn't mean for that last post to be in bold type
     
  2. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    You should have SBF'ed back to Froyo, since there is not an SBF out for GB to my knowledge, and then you have two options, you will need the flashable version of the GB leak, or the OTA update. The GB leak will take some Google power, but your OTA will be under settings>about phone>system updates. Does that clear things up?
     
  3. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    sorry no that's what i did
    my question was, does a battery pull make sbf more reliable/ less errors?

    and i edited last post
     
  4. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    A battery pull should not create or fix any errors in your system files. So no, it should not do anything to help or hender your SBF after you flashed it. BTW, just to be more accurate, when you flash an SBF file, it becomes the "Stock ROM". Just for clarification's sake.

    One thing to try when bootlooping is to go into factory recovery, and do a factory reset, and wipe the cache, that can make a world of difference sometimes. For whatever reaosn, some files dont play nice with each other, and that can clear up some problems. But you should always do a factory reset and wipe the cache before flashing any ROM anyway.
     
  5. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    I was just thinking, that you shouldn't do a battery pull, more times than necessary
     
  6. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Unless you are sBFing, or Flashing a ROM, you should be ok. Heres how I think about it. If you phone looks like it's in what I like to call "command prompt mode" or where it's just raw script, no UI, then you should never do a battery pull until you can absolutely confirm it is frozen, usually after 5-6 minutes of no progress at all. Otherwise you risk hard bricking your phone, and sometimes even an SBF can't help you then. Hope that helps.
     
  7. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    ICS: Ice Cream Sandwich, Android 4.0
    theoretically should work for any 2.3 device, it's up to the manufacturer, if an upgrade is made for your phone.
     
  8. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    And since this is really for the Droid 2 Global, we should note:

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/community/manager/softwareupgrades

    "
    A note about Ice Cream Sandwich:
    We are planning to upgrade DROID RAZR™ by Motorola, Motorola RAZR™, Motorola XOOM™ (including Family Edition) and DROID BIONIC™ by Motorola to Ice Cream Sandwich. We will provide more precise guidance on timing after post-public push of Ice Cream Sandwich by Google, as well as any possible additions to this list of devices."

    So, as of now, not Droid 2 Global, but maybe a "possible addition" although presumably the Droid 3, X2 would have more priority being newer phones.
     
  9. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    OK, well I will add ICS to the Cmmon terms, and make a small section for it, but I wont mnetion it being on the D2G, since it cannot be confirmed.
     
  10. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Bump to the top.
     
  11. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Bump for fun. :)

    Sent from my Banana Phone
     
  12. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +561
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    First time seeing this thread. Great write-up Jonas! This will help many! :big smile:
     
  13. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks! Maybe if I catch some time this week I can add a little more. My life has been a blur and I haven't added much in a while.

    Sent from my Banana Phone
     
  14. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is actually revnumbers's trick for getting out of a bootloop and into clockwork recovery but I figured it's worth sharing for those of you who have adb/android-sdk set up on your computer...
    On a computer with adb installed, navigate to your android-sdk's platform tools folder or whichever location adb is found in via command prompt. Of course, this is for folks who know a thing or two about command prompt.
    Run this:
    adb shell "echo 1 > /data/.recovery_mode; sync;"
    adb reboot

    It reboots into clockwork recovery. Saved my rear too many times to count as well. As long as you can get into a bootloop, that is.
     
  15. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Should I quote you or revnumbers for this? I will try to add it tomorrow.

    Sent from my Banana Phone
     
Search tags for this page

droid reset *228 in wrong language

,

thunderbolt diag mode