factory wipe question.

Discussion in 'LG G2' started by Neupy, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok broke my phone screen and it won't work at all. Got a new one but I'd like to figure out how to wipe the old one without being able to use the screen. Any ideas?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    907
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    Since it's broke anyway 1 good foot stomp should finish it off. :biggrin:

    There may be a button combination (power and volume) that could do it but can you see what is happening?
     
  3. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I can see everything just fine
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    907
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    Try power and volume up (or down) from turned off to see if you get an option to wipe. Maybe someone else with your particular phone can be more help.
     
  5. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +334
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Power down. Press and hold the power and volume down button. As soon as the LG logo appears release them and hit and hold them both again. This will bring you to the hard reset screen. Just press the power button to do a hard reset.
     
  6. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks I'll try that when I get home.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    907
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    You got your answer from a master. It should work just fine.
     
  8. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might have to put my SIM card back in tho. I was playing with the buttons earlier but nothing would work because it was *****ing about no SIM card.
     
  9. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +334
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    SIM card shouldn't really matter because you never get to the point that it would.
     
  10. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your right thanks a lot!
     
  11. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +334
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    NP. Let us know how it goes. I don't foresee any issues as this procedure is all button based.
     
  12. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh it worked fine thanks. It's in the mail now.