Factory reset?

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by CMDRSTP, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Hello, all.

    Ok, I did three successive factory resets. Now, I will be ready to download ICS update after I fully charge.

    Do I do another factory reset after I download ICS?

    Thank you.
  2. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    At this point it cant hurt. Lol.

    Sent from my DROID4
  3. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    :) Well, I was advised to to do 2-3 resets "to make sure" of a having "clean slate" before the ICS update.

    Just I couldn't remember if it was advised to do one after the ICS update.
  4. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    63
    you could do one . IMO it wont be needed. and you dont need to do more than 1 . it does you no good to do more than that
  5. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Thank you, both!

    Just curious....

    If I was to do one (factory data reset) after the update.........why wouldn't it revert back to "Gingerbread?" Isn't that what the factory reset was established with? Why would it reset with the new ICS?
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  6. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    63
    ICS replaces existing OS . it more or less your new factory image
  7. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Thank you! I appreciate your help!
  8. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Actually, we've been finding that doing two FDR's back to back ensures a clean wipe and install, its been used by several people to improve battery life, the data limit glitch, and the quick contacts pull down glitch :blink:

    It sounds like it wouldn't be necessary, but doing back to back FDR's settled my devices down. They were having battery and heat issues after doing single FDR's.

    Ymmv
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  9. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  10. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Do one after the update as well?
  11. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    63
    IMO opinion you are starting with a clean slate no apps anything you should be ok , if you notice it getting glitchy then you can do FDR . but its your decision. IT never hurts to do one though
  12. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  13. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Thank you, all!

    Sorry for the all the dumb questions but, I am not the most tech savy and this is my first smartphone. I really enjoy the Droid Razr Maxx with GB. I hope I am equally pleased with ICS.

    I do appreciate everyone's patience and time to answer.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  14. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Wait until after the install of ics if you dont already have it. Then do two in a row.. back to back
    I did an fdr right before ics, and I still had issues.
    Long story short, we're finding that doing two, one after the other is helping but ymmv :)
  15. CMDRSTP
    Offline

    CMDRSTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    I haven't yet. Charging to 100% before I do.

    Typically, how long does the update take? I usually get a good 3G signal where I live.
  16. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    63
    i did not write that someone with greater knowledge of android wrote that article.
  17. Exalted911
    Offline

    Exalted911 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude he already did 2 factory resets before ICS. I dont think he has anything left over on his phone LOL. all he has to do is one more after ICS and he should be good. Poor guy is going to wear out his phone if he keeps doing FR. yes I am exaggerating but I think its safe to say hes good to go. :D
  18. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Lmao I didn't read that he had done three.. but all I'm trying to say is that I've had good luck doing two after the install.

    I apologize because I didn't see he had done three already.. wow. :blink:
  19. Exalted911
    Offline

    Exalted911 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LoL yes hommie went FR happy :p
  20. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    But seriously... let's all do another fdr together :) it'll be a bonding experience :D lmao... don't throw that!!! Your only gonna make yourself madder lmao :p
Search tags for this page
camera icon missing on droid razr
,

droid razr maxx factory reset

,
factory data reset droid razr maxx
,
factory reset razr ics
,
full reset
,
hard reset droid razr m
,
how to delete everything off your android
,
how to screenshot on droid razr
,
master reset cod for maxx 25
,
maxx factory reset code
,
razr factory image
,
what is the difference between hard and factory data reset