Factory Reset.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by shaggykid, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    If I do a factory reset is there a way to keep my apps? Or when I re-add my accounts will they automatically come back?

    Is there a way to save them on an sd-card
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    your apps are tied to your account, so if you bought any you can get them back easily.

    Another route you can go is using a backup app to make it easier. If you're rooted I recommend Titanium Backup
     
  3. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have titanium.. but will that not be erased in the factory reset?

    Also will my system upgrades revert back to the original?
     
  4. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    And also just the bought ones will be tied to my accounts? Or the free ones I've downloaded also?
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Titanium will be erased, but once you download it again it will recognize your backup which I believe is stored on your SD card. I did it twice and it was very easy to use.
     
  6. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Okay so the data on my sd-card will stay intact? Or should I remove it before I reset.

    Thanks for the help BTW. I was scared to do it
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    It won't be affected, factory reset just resets the phone. Taking the SD card won't ruin the process or anything, just in case you want that peace of mind that it won't be touched.

    I've factory reset my Incredible at least 3 times within a day and my SD card files remained untouched.
     
  8. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Okay awesome man. Thanks! As soon as I get home I'm gonna do it. Just wanna make a list of the apparently I have just in case.

    And I'll post And update on how everything went.
     
  9. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Well can never be too safe. Just giving you my experience, but if you want to absolutely make sure your SD isn't erased, I'd say just take it out, gives you the peace of mind.

    Keep us updated. Just out of curiosity, why the factory reset? Having troubles with the phone?
     
  10. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just battery life. I've been reading about things to do help it. Recommends doing a factory reset and calibrating battery. Also having lag issues and the such. Nothing too serious

    Edit: I also want to experiments with custom roms and it's my understanding that you have to so a factory reset when doing it so I wanted to have experience resetting be fore I did
     
  11. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Ahhh gotcha.

    I'm running CM7 right now on my Inc. I have a backup of my stock just in case (and it is also highly recommended you do backup). You'll get a fresh start with every ROM you install.
     
  12. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How exactly would I back up my stock phone??

    does factory reset undo your root?
     
Search tags for this page

how to reverse factory data reset