Factory Reset - What will I lose?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by 7 VII 7, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. 7 VII 7
    Offline

    7 VII 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having issues with 2.1 and would like to do a full factory reset... what am I going to lose?

    I have tons of pictures
    Apps
    and specific notification sounds for certain events
    My contacts and FB friends in there.

    Thanks!
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If you do it from your Droid just out of the privacy settings, you just need to sign back into things. Everything else should still be there. The only thing I lost were things that I downloaded using an .apk file from my sd card.
  3. visorboy
    Offline

    visorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    need help

    what if you do a factory reset from the recovery mode boot screen? is everything still saved?

    i tried forcing the 2.1 update and now the "droid" screen and the red eye just keeping looping continuously. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You would lose all your downloads, you would have to reinstall paid apps but it wouldn't cost you anything they would still be in your downloads.

    As far as your looping issue goes, try going to the rescue squad and see if they can help you over there. It's in the hacks section.
  5. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Doing a hard reset, is what you are talking about, that is from the recovery menu, and that will delete everything. Reset the phone back to the way it was when you walked out of the store.
  6. visorboy
    Offline

    visorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry if this is a dumb question, but how do i reset my phone back to the way it was?
  7. bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt
    Offline

    bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Make sure to remove the SD card before doing it, this way you maintain a good majority of your data and bookmarks.
  8. visorboy
    Offline

    visorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the responses

    i just did a factory reset and the update worked fine after that. thanks again
  9. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    The biggest thing I lost was a lot of my free apps. Once I figured out what they were I was able to download them too.
  10. nbajam
    Offline

    nbajam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the market save free apps in the "downloads" area like it does the paid apps? Or do you have to remember what they all are?
  11. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ok so lets make sure i got this correctly

    A factory reset (from privacy settings menu) will not remove apps or anything like that.

    A hard reset from the recovery menu will erase everything.

    EDIT: Nevermind factory reset (from privacy settings) did remove apps and such but my google account picked them all up and put them on the Downloads list of the market for me to re-download.
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  12. k1ng617
    Offline

    k1ng617 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just did a factory reset from the privacy menu and here was my experience.

    1) It did NOT delete anything from my SDcard
    2) I had to redownload and reinstall each app individually. Purchases are saved on Google servers so I did NOT have to repay for them.
    3) All settings were erased including those for the operating system and all apps (Scores, settings, bookmarks, homescreen, wifi everything!) Contacts are saved on google servers so those were safe.
    4) I had to reactivate my phone using the automatic over the air activation process
    5) It was a pain to reset everything how I had it before and are currently searching for an easier way if I ever need to restore again.
Search tags for this page

does a factory reset delete pictures

,
does factory reset delete contacts
,

does factory reset delete pictures

,

droid factory reset lose contacts

,

if i do a factory reset will i lose my contacts

,

if i do a hard reset will i lose my contacts

,

if i factory reset my android will i lose my pictures

,

if i reset my droid will i lose everything

,
if i reset my droid will i lose my contacts
,
what will i lose with a factory reset
,
will factory reset delete pictures
,
will i lose my pictures if i restore my android