factory reset now or later

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ricks, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. ricks

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am still waiting for the second ota update on my Droid1. Should I do a factory reset now or wait for FRG22D. Its running slow and eating battery. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Before you do a reset --- do you have a task killer installed? If so, remove it first and see if that improves the situation. If not, then do the reset
     
  3. ricks

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4
    No task killers, never liked them. Is this the best way to go, reset now or after the second 2.2 frd22d. Just want to do it at the best time. Thanks
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'd do it now. FRG22D is just a small patch really.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Have you installed any new apps recently? If so, uninstall and see if that helps. If your phone is really slow then try the reset. Nothing to lose
     
  6. ricks

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok I reset it and now it looks like the second ota is happening. How do I get all the app back and stuff?
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    When the OTA completes and you reboot you should be asked to enter your Google account info. That will sync you phone with your Gmail, Gmail contacts, and apps.

    Mike
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You gotta love it. This question comes up afterwards.

    Your apps, at least your paid ones will all be in the downloads area of The Market. If you don't have something like Titanium the rest you'll have to go pick up on a "as needed" basis.
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Didn't he say that he wiped? Or did I just misunderstand that? Hmmm, he said he reset, not did a factory data restart. If that's the case everything will return. Be patient some things may not show up right away. Also give it an hour or so to get up to speed.
     
  10. ricks

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4
    I did a factory reset. After reset, the FRG22D appeared and it installed. I see all my paid apps. Is there any way to get the free ones back without doing it manually? like launcher pro, etc.
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    As Hook mentioned, it may take some time to get everything back. If you feel that you have waited a reasonable amount of time and everything has not reinstalled, open your market app, tap menu, tap downloads. This will display all of the apps you previously downloaded. Tap/update any that have not reinstalled.

    Mike
     
  12. giant25

    giant25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Along a similar line. I have FRG22D and am not rooted. I first manually patched FRG01B with the smaller 45 MB patch file and then patched FRG22D, both manually with update.zip. I'm having problems and would like to try to load the full 75 MB FRG01B (and then the FRG22D after). What's my best bet? Can I just update.zip the full 75 MB FRG01B file on top of what I have or do I have to do something else? And do I have to do a factory reset (I'm considering one, but want to know if I have to)? Lastly, if I decide to root, should I do all of this first and then root, or just skip all of this and follow a rooting guide?
    I'm not looking to solve my existing problems with responses like "remove ATK" or "pull the battery" I'm beyond that. My phone freezes randomly and is having a bunch of other problems. Thanks.
     
  13. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  14. giant25

    giant25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Thanks Mike,
    I had read most of those guides and just wanted to make sure that performing this would indeed wipe that 45 MB patch off of my phone and start over. That still wasn't very clear for some instances.
     
  15. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    When you root and install a new rom you will wipe the existing data and cache, therefore, removing the patch.

    Mike
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge is very slow should i factory reset
,
how to reset motorola eq7
,

motorola eq7 reset

,
reset motorola eq7
,
sprint galaxy nexus running slow should i factory reset
,
will factory reset work for phone running slow