Facebook on CM7

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by bphillips35131, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. bphillips35131

    bphillips35131 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, just wondering if anyone else is having problems syncing Facebook running CM7? I can't even set up the account to sync. My Google account is there, but if I try to add account, then click Facebook, it just goes back to the screen listing my accounts.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  2. mjones73

    mjones73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try wiping out the cache and data for facebook via Settings, Applications, Manage Apps. Just a guess but it might help. To answer your question, it's working fine for me.
     
  3. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Open up facebook, go to settings, scroll to bottom > Sync Contacts (make your choice). After you click ok, you can go into settings > accounts & sync and your facebook account will now be listed.

    Also, you may want to check in the htc incredible section if you don't find help here. This forum is for the og droid.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011
  4. bphillips35131

    bphillips35131 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks man, that did it, must have had some lingering data or something.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  5. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    I notice sometimes I lose my facebook sync for some reason. I've never paid much attention to what's causing it. It may happen when I flash a new rom or it could be related to link2sd. If it continues to annoy me like I assume it will I will have to get to the bottom of it :)
     
  6. ironick7

    ironick7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Facebook FCs every time I use it. Any1 else experience time?
     
  7. Schoat333

    Schoat333 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That kept happening to me with the new version of facebook, 1.5.3, so I downgraded to 1.5.2 and it works fine. Do a search for older facebook apk's and you'll find them.
     
  8. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    FB 1.5.3 definitely doesn't like CyanogenMod. Blows up with either CM6 or CM7. Works fine with stock, rooted FRG83G, and also works just fine with Bugless Beast. Fortunately for CM, I have 1.5.2 backed up with Titanium Backup, so I can just restore that when I boot a flavor of CM.
     
  9. phonetool

    phonetool Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    FB is FC'ing so F**K that!

    Mobile page is easier to use, anyway, IMO.

    /D1 CM7.0.2
     
  10. VonKapff

    VonKapff New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got rid of facebook because it kept closing on me with cm7, I switched to the free version of flow and have had no problems.
     
  11. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    The FCs are not because of Cyanogen. The Facebook Page for the app is full of complaints from regular users. Facebook's app has always sucked a fat one...is it any surprise they'd release a BROKEN one?
     
  12. phonetool

    phonetool Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    They should take a lesson from Microsoft and Google and simply BUY software that already works.
    "Hey, Flow! Come over here!" Ka-ching!
    :soapbox:
     
  13. Last2No

    Last2No Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Southern IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using 1.53 on a GB 2.3.3 rom with no issues.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  14. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    This... if anyone is paying attention to Facebook for Android's facebook page or the comments in the android market, you would be seeing this is happening to every model, no discrimination.
     
  15. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Personal experience on the Original Droid and FB 1.5.3:
    Stock FRG83G: No Problem
    CM6: Forced close on anything but the news feed
    CM7: Forced close on anything but the news feed
    Bugless Beast: No Problem

    I can't vouch for any other custom ROMs, but from my experience there is SOMETHING in CM that the new FB app doesn't like.
     
Search tags for this page

cm7 facebook

,
cyanogenmod 7 facebook
,

cyanogenmod 7 facebook sync

,
facebook apk cm7
,
facebook apk cyanogenmod
,
facebook apk cyanogenmod 7
,

facebook cm7

,
facebook cyanogenmod 7
,

facebook for cm7

,
facebook for cyanogenmod