1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Facebook can't detect location

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by SSpeeDEMONSS, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    No matter where I am, it always says "Couldn't detect your location. Please check your signal and tap here to try again." What does that mean and how can I fix it?

    thanks
    Garrett
  2. JohnnyD359
    Offline

    JohnnyD359 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wondering why would you want facebook to know where you are? I cant stand how invasive facebook is already....you constantly have to update your privacy...whenever they make changes they convieniently restore all setting to there default which is visible to everyone...In this case,Id say be careful what you wish for....
  3. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    regardless, i want it to work the way it is supposed to and its not. i have friends with Droids and their phones work just fine. im updated to 2.2 and cant think of what else it could be.

    Garrett
  4. Android Man
    Offline

    Android Man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @SSpeeDEMONSS I am having the same problem and I can't find any information to fix it anywhere. I am still looking for a solution. Weird. I was able to check-in to a location once before but now it is not working where ever I go. With Wifi, or on the mobile network. The Gps is on....."facebook places couldn't detect your location" may be a good thing...... that remains to be seen
  5. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Dumb question, is your GPS getting a lock? Use GPS status from the market to make sue you are getting a lock. I assume you are using the touch site, as I havent seen the option yet in the app. Have you enabled location in your browser settings?
  6. Android Man
    Offline

    Android Man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :icon_ banana:I have solved my issue. dancedroid I was using SkyFire. I uninstalled it and when I used the defult moble browser I was able to check in to my location. Is there anyone using the SkyFire browser have any insight as to why this happened. I could not see a setting that was off with in SkyFire that would prohibit it from allowing location infomation being transmitted.
  7. Android Man
    Offline

    Android Man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the nudge

    DB thanks for the nudge in the right direction. I would like however to be able to use SkyFire. It is a good mobile browser. I really like the "tabbed" capabilities.

  8. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Not sure, I haven't used skyfire since I installed flash.
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Wow, you're making me work this morning. I just downloaded skyfire, got dressed and went outside (metal roof = no GPS) hit up face book, and it worked for me. Try going to menu>Settings>Privacy & Security>Clear location access and see if that helps. If not, Clear your cache, and restart the browser and see if that works. I dont remember how to change your location settings in the touch site,it asked for permission to use location services, but I clicked ok before I read the disclaimer on how to change the settings.

    PS: After a Force Stop (From home screen- Menu> settings> applications> manage apps> all> skyfire> Force Stop, and clearing the cache from the menu in the browser, I was prompted for permission to share my location again.
    Good luck!
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  10. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    i know my GPS works because my GPS app works just fine. the setting on facebook at set for the location too. it just doesnt want to.

    Garrett
  11. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Sometimes Facebook is just stubborn. If you figure it out, let us know. I really dont know what else to tell you.
  12. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    ok, just downloaded skyfire and it works with that but doesnt work with the normal browser. i guess i will just have to use skyfire for it from now on. i still wish i could figure out why it wont do it with the normal browser.

    Garrett
  13. zzzjtwzzz
    Offline

    zzzjtwzzz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got mine to start working again by doing the following:
    1. Select "more" from internet menu
    2. Selet "settings"
    3. Cleared "Clear location access"
    4. Cycled the "Enable location" check box
Search tags for this page
error detecting current location facebook
,
facebook auto detect location
,
facebook can detect location
,

facebook can't find my location

,
facebook can't locate me
,
facebook can't find my location
,
facebook cannot detect my location
,

facebook cannot find my location

,
facebook check in can't locate me
,
facebook detecting location
,
facebook location detection
,

facebook not detecting location

,
location detection facebook
,

why can't facebook find my location

,
why facebook cant detect my location