F-r-u-s-t-r-a-t-e-d

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by synlupri, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. synlupri

    synlupri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Argh, my brand new (just a few weeks old) Sprint Samsung Moment is losing battery FAST.

    I've been reading all the posts about what to turn off, task killer app, etc., but what bothers me, is that everyone keeps saying go to Settings/About/Battery Usage to see what is using up the battery. There is no battery usage in this area on my phone. I thought maybe I needed to download some kind of battery status app, so I did, and it still isn't there.

    How in the world can I tell what is using up the darn battery?
    Its making me crazy! I have a full charge at 8:00am when I leave the house, and by noon, its almost completely drained.

    Does anyone have this phone? Am I even in the right forum (I noticed it only says Motorola and Verizon on this one), but I couldn't find one labeled Sprint.

    I love my phone, but I need more than 4 hours. Oh and for the record I did download advanced task killer, and I use constantly. everytime I run it, it finds another long list of apps running. And does anyone know how to delete those two Sprint apps (NFL and Nascar)? I'm a girl who has ZERO interest in those two things so it'd be great to get them off my phone for good.

    Can anyone help me find this battery status/usage thing on my phone? :frown:
     
  2. HMJB

    HMJB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hate to break it to you, but you in the wrong forum for the phone you have.. I suggest returning it for a motorola droid though so we can help you out! We all get 30 days before contract becomes final!

















    I am just kidding btw
     
  3. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid will get you at least 6 hours. Thats a 50% increase.

    heh. Just kidding.


    -Wil
     
  4. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Musta taken a wrong turn at Albuquerque" - Bugs Bunny
     
  5. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have it on a charger, it won't register anything. Unplug it for a few minutes, then plug it back in and take a look. That should do it.
     
  6. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take it back, its covered under the manufacturers warranty and they'll replace the battery or the phone
     
  7. synlupri

    synlupri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, tried that. even tried removing the battery, still no battery usage in settings/about area.

    But...I thought my phone was a "Droid". It says droid on it. Sprint said it was a droid. I'm confused.

    I found a list of things on another website to turn off (which most already were), but then it also said to remove the the weather channel widget. Perhaps that was my culprit. I dunno. discouraged.

    Sorry to butt in on the wrong board. But thanks for trying to help me.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weather Channel widget would need to 'pull' it's information from the servers. How often do you have your updates scheduled for? Every 5 mins? Every 30? more?

    Anything that's constantly updating will drain your battery. Also if you have an Anti-Virus installed, delete that. Would slow your phone, consume battery, and there are no confirmed viruses for the Android platform.
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,715
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,026
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Hahaha! Wow...Why not? What apps do you have installed?
     
  10. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    you have an eris, its running the "Android" operating system. The DROID is whole different phone but it also runs the "Android" operating system. I think you have the two confused.

    But i would return the phone and have them replace it because your battery should not be draining that quickly..i couldent make my battery drain that fast even if i tried. Well maybe if i was playing Tetris and downloading a large document while also listening to music..but still.
     
  11. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, its not an eris, its a moment.

    [​IMG]


    Keep in mind that you pay enough money into sprint with your data package and advanced phone that they shouldn't give you the run around. Explain your situation and get it replaced.
     
  12. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    You don't have an Eris, but the Moment runs on Android OS too just like the Droid and Droid Eris