1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

****EXTREMELY IMPORTANT**** GB could brick your phone...read.

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by yakitori, May 25, 2011.

  1. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    source.
    [NOTICE] Gingerbread Related Bricking - xda-developers

    if you are running gb...I suggest you revert back to the froyo radio and a froyo rom.

    I will be doing this as soon as I have access to my phone.

    This can happen even after youve been running fine for a few days.
  2. TRIKOTRET
    Offline

    TRIKOTRET New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    man. that sucks. gonna miss that lock screen :(
  3. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    you and me both.

    Wish I had access to my phone right now...its at my desk at work...and I cant revert for another hour or so.

    Hopefully it will last that long lol
  4. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That kinda sucks.

    Next time, i'd recommend not flashing ROMS with an Android version that hasn't been released. Just to be safe...
  5. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    its not the rom...its the alpha radio that causes the endless bootloop.

    THat is the risk we all take when flashing roms. We are well aware of the possibilities. As soon as the radio issue is fixed...bam...Im right back on gb. Its much nicer than the froyo version...and sense 3.0 is friggen sweet.
  6. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True.
    To me the benefits of flashing ROMS shadow over the risks.

    I am using a Droid X so I can only wish someday a moto phone gets blessed with HTC Sense...lol
  7. illmatic636
    Offline

    illmatic636 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Sad to say, but I doubt any Moto Device will have a fully working sense ui on it.
    HTC has to protect their bread and butter. And that's Sense UI.
  8. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    yeah...IMO sense UI is the beez kneez

    friggen love it
  9. jimmydene84
    Offline

    jimmydene84 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does that file Include the radio aswell?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. jimmydene84
    Offline

    jimmydene84 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm installing my backup of 1.6.3 democrat and downloading a froyo radio as we speak

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Is this only for htc tb? I was just about to flash gb on my d2. Just wanna make sure

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  12. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Yes thunderbolt only!
  13. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Thanks!

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  14. javaman70
    Offline

    javaman70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This can affect any Thunderbolts running Gingerbread (except CM7 users), even after running fine for several days.

    The cause at this point is not completely understood, and AndIRC as a whole recommends you revert back to Froyo until we understand it, or have a new leak.

    That's from XDA SITE

    Sent from Droid Running Liquid's LGB 1.9 W/ V6_Supercharger
  15. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    sorry all...yes this is TB only.

    GB radio alpha leak is suspected to cause it. Dont know why...neither does jcase or other devs on xda. Some people are deciding to take their chances and stay, but personally...Id rather play it safe.

    im already back on bamf 1.6.3 remix....which is an outstanding rom I might add.
  16. 04CiviCon20s
    Offline

    04CiviCon20s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Yak, Thanks for this as I was LITERALLY about to get on the GB ship after rooting my TB..I will hop on your recommended Rom:)
  17. TRIKOTRET
    Offline

    TRIKOTRET New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are going to release bamf 1.7 soon :)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  18. jimmydene84
    Offline

    jimmydene84 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reverted back to froyo, I miss my netflix already :(

    But a working phone is more important!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Can't you just use the devicecheck disabled apk from xda? I'm on froyo using netflix. It works great

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  20. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
Search tags for this page
are the gb important on a phone
,
brick your phone means
,
can gingerbreak brick device
,

can gingerbreak brick your phone

,
can using gingerbreak brick your device
,

gingerbreak brick

,
gingerbreak bricked
,
gingerbreak, brick
,
how do you brick your phone
,
will gingerbreak brick my droid 2
,
will gingerbreak brick my phone
,
will gingerbreak brick phone
,
will gingerbreak brick your phone