Extreme Lag

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by SrulDog, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. SrulDog
    Offline

    SrulDog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I just switched from an Incredible running CM7 to the Droid 3. Aside from the sheer disdain I have for Blur right now (I know people are saying it is much better than previous Blur versions, but this is my first Blur experience and I must say I think it sucks), my phone is EXTREMELY LAGGY.

    Often times, after using an app or looking through my app drawer, it takes 5 to 6 seconds for the home screen to populate. wth??

    Anyone else have an extremely laggy droid 3? With a dual core 1ghz there is absolutely no excuse for this!1



    notes - I tried restoring data from my Inc to the D3 using MyBackup and it did not work - maybe it messed something up?

    I have an animated backgroud. Could this be the culprit?
  2. hobby31
    Offline

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    This sounds like the same thing that the X2 is notorious for. I have the X2 and it did this until I ran the supercharger script. I believe both phones have the same dual core processors and I think moto isn't utilizing it right. My X2 runs a lot better after supercharging but at times apps just close themselves and other random stuff. You can try looking in the x2 forum for the supercharger script thread. I believe it should work on the d3 also.
  3. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Supercharger script won't work since the DROID 3 hasn't been rooted yet.

    Turn off your screen animations and get rid of the live wallpaper. It should help some

    Liberty Gingercomb v.09
  4. SrulDog
    Offline

    SrulDog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the feedback. silly that they would allow two dual core phones to make it to market with such bad lag. perhaps blur is the culprit?

    I got rid of the live wallpaper and started using launcher pro. Not only do i not have to deal with Blur, but the lag seems to have drastically improved. I do encounter a glitch when I turn on the screen by sliding the keyboard out, but i'll go bother federico morales about that ;)
  5. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had some slow problems the first couple days... then I thought.. all those apps that reinstalled from the market when I synced the phone ... ??? ... so I dumped everything.. started over.. just downloaded the ones that I use frequently.. all the others are still there in the market if I need them "purchased"... why not use the market as app storage for stuff I hardly use anyway..

    Point is... it really helped.. some of those cheap crappy games and stuff were really screwing me over always running in the background and I suspect not playing well with D3 2.3.4

    As of now... no lag... no problems... no freezes.. no force closes.... nice
  6. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotta plug Go Launcher EX, free in market. When the latest "update" for the Droid came out the powers made the home launcher laaaaaggggggg. Truth:
    - home replacement app causes original launcher to NOT RUN and is WAY BETTER
    - "they" are dragging Android down so you feel compelled to upgrade continuously obviously
  7. SrulDog
    Offline

    SrulDog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I started using launcher pro and things are soooo much better. Any reason to go with launcher ex over launcher pro?

    Also, ill never buy a touch screen again. I wrote this with no typos in under a minute. Go d3 keyboard!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed I have a tiny tiny bit of screen redraw when going back to home but it's not enough to bother me. I loaded the Blur Bookmarks widget at one point and the redraw lag was crazy. Threw the widget in the trash and it was right back to normal. So number of widgets or type of widgets might be a bit slow with the Blur homescreen setup
  9. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Launcher Pro , ADW Launcher/ex and GO Launcher Ex are all good launchers to use, they all rid your phone of almost all transition lag and its alot smoother than Blur (obviously). As far as which one to use, its all on preference, GO launcher and ADW have better theming then Launcher Pro, but LP also has bad ass widget theming. I say try them out and see which you prefer. Personally I like GO launcher.
  10. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been really testing what this phone can handle during my 14 day return window. I loaded it up with lots of widgets, apps that update frequently with push notifications and alerts. The killer seemed to be adding a live wallpaper, then I was frequently getting home screen redraws. Sometimes just the Quick Contacts widgets needing to reload contact pics, other times completely blank screen that had to reload all widgets and app shortcuts. The redraws still recover much more quickly than my OG Droid. Switching to a regular wallpaper was a big help, the Forest wallpaper was just using too much memory.

    I'm thinking this is more of a RAM problem than processor problem, really wish they had given this a gig of RAM.
  11. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yeah I totally agree with you on that 1GB of RAM wouldve been better, but this phone just shouldnt be as laggy as it is with the processor it has. I have been doing the same and trying to use it to the max within my return window, and with all of the lag, the bloat, and the constant reboots I have to say I might be taking another trip back to Verizon sometime this week. I might as well hold out for the Bionic.
  12. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had no reboots, would love to remove the bloat, live wallpapers are more gimmicky than they are useful so if it performs well without it I am cool with that.

    I know that every device has its issues. My son has the TBolt, more RAM, but his constant reboots are ridiculous, even after the update that was supposed to fix it. I'm still undecided about returning this and waiting/hoping the Bionic will be better. But logic tells me that the Bionic will be more expensive and probably have issues too.
  13. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah the price on the D3 is unbeatable, especially if you have the upgrade price or corporate price which makes in only $149.99 which is what I paid, and the Bionic is definitely going to be an expensive phone. Most Verizone 4G LTE phones right now are running from about $250-$300 (2 yr price). And its definitely safe to say that it will have its issues, so I guess i can say I am in the same boat as you.
  14. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I got mine for $169, but then if I return it have to pay the $35 restocking fee...
  15. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah maybe I will hold on to mine a bit longer, maybe and OTA update will fix our issues...
  16. HikenGruven
    Offline

    HikenGruven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    I'm on the OG Droid at the moment and have to admit that this thread killed the prospects of getting a Droid 3. My OG Droid worked great until the Froyo OTA update which destroyed it. Verizon thanked me by providing a piece of crap refurb. Ever since that the phone is laggy, randomly reboots, and takes forever to redraw the screen. It sounds like the same problems still linger.
  17. SpaZZoiD
    Offline

    SpaZZoiD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LiL South of Pittsburgh
    The droid 3 is way to laggy for having a dual core. I really think its not using both cores, atleats not to full potential. It takes forever for me to load web pages that took me seconds with my d2, yes my d2 was rooted and overclocked with liberty but still this phone should be performing way better than it is!! Also this is my 3rd bout to be 4th "as soon as it gets here" droid3 in less than a week. They all had diff problems but they all had one incomin, eveyone I've had so far keeps droping 3g for 2-6 seconds at a time! Oh and for everyone saying the d3 screen sucks is full of crap, I love the screen and think its just fine! Once a ota comes this phone will rock, oh yeah and once root comes ;)

    I think moto should have waited to work out all the bugs and give it 4g before they releast it! Even its it got releast after the bionic "cuz we all know verizon wants that to be there first 4g dual core phone"!

    I find myself going back to my d2 that is much faster just with a sucky screen.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Similar Threads
  1. modified
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    499
  2. haxerpaylay
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,031
  3. jedi
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,654
  4. pctdavis
    Replies:
    27
    Views:
    3,572
  5. EspoMan
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,565
Loading...
Search tags for this page

android gaming extreme lag