external microSD card.... went from 16GB and 32GB and FROZEN droid razr

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by jp233, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. jp233

    jp233 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    BACKGROUND: device is a stock XT912 RAZR on ICS 4.0, unrooted and unmolested (and I hate ICS, after having it only barely over a month - I waited forever to "upgrade", want to go back to Gingerbread.... but I digress)


    Hello,

    I am trying to upgrade my 16gb removable card to a 32gb, but the phone just freezes constantly with all the data moved.

    Note: I ONLY have raw data files on my removable SD card -- music, pictures, videos, etc.

    I put the new 32GB microSD card into the SD Card adapter, and into my laptop. Then plugged the phone into the USB and moved all 14.2 GB onto the new 32GB card that way. The folder/file structure is the same. Then, unmounted the 16GB card in the phone, removed it, and replaced with the 32 GB card. The phone will find things in My Gallery etc, but will freeze and die. I've had to reboot ten times and just by pulling the 32GB card, the phone runs fine. I've gone back to the 16GB card which is full, for now.

    The whole Internal vs. External SD card labeling in ICS is stupid, as I do have a bunch of Apps in the /mnt/sdcard section (288MB worth). I have the Camera set to place all camera files (pics & video) onto the External SD card. I thought since this is actually "Internal" (aka non-removable) storage that I would be able to move all the data the way I did and voila! I have a lot more storage space. I don't want to have to go through and delete music, and I'm simply going to continue to add files due to kid pics and video.

    Do I need to re-format the new 32GB card FROMthe phone? If so - then would it still be recognized in my Windows7 laptop to transfer all the data files from the 16GB card?

    Or, what did I do wrong and how do I do this?
     
  2. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Do it backwards, place the 32GB card in the phone, and let the phone format it so Android can use it, put the 16GB in the adapter and in your computer, and proceed to move things over as desired.
     
  3. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    +1 on what he said.
     
  4. Sal R.

    Sal R. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yep, that's what I did.
     
  5. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    I've heard of some 32g and 64g sdcards not working in Motorola phones. It has something to do with the latency I think. The recommended is 5 or higher if I remember right. What is the make and latency of the card you are trying to use.
     
  6. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Card speeds are measured in classes, starting at 2,4,6, and 10.

    I have a Class 10 32GB card and works just fine. I also have a 64GB Class 10 card that DOES NOT work, but has nothing to do with class, just the fact that the 64GB is formatted as exFAT instead of FAT32 like the 32GB card is, and Android (at least ICS 4.0.X) does not like exFAT.
     
  7. Sal R.

    Sal R. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Mine is a SanDisk 32GB HC. Class 4, IIRC.
     
  8. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thanks macpro...I knew it was something...latency was the first thing that came to mind. I wonder if a class 4 that he is using is the problem? I know there was some discussion a few months ago on the Motorola Support Forum about the issue of "class" for sdcards.
     
  9. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Class 4 is pretty standard and should work without a hitch. Some phones have issues with Class 10 in the past, but Android has been doing a good job at keeping up with the SD Cards. Gingerbread and Froyo especially picky about the Class 10 cards. ICS should not have issues with Class 10 but most phones don't like the 64GB cards because of the different stock file system it uses.
     
  10. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Well...I don't have any other help to offer. If the phone will format the sdcard then I don't understand why it won't read it. Maybe a defective card?
     
  11. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    I'm thinking he just needs to reverse his process.

    Usually have better luck and results if you let the phone format the card first, I've had issues in the past where I'll format in Windows first with stuff on the card before I put it in my phone and I'd run into issues here and there. Formatted from the phone, move stuff back on, and worked just fine from there on out.
     
  12. jp233

    jp233 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm about to go try and do it in the reverse direction... I'll erase the 32GB card in Windows first, then swap it into the phone and hopefully the phone will run long enough to let me format it.

    This is a BNIB SanDisk 32GB SDHC card, Class 4.

    On sale black friday style for $15.99 at MicroCenter, came with the card adapter too.
     
Search tags for this page
can droid x use 32gb sd card
,
can i put a 64g on a prevail 2 instwad of a 32g
,
ðºð»ð°ññ ð¼ð¸ðºñ€ð¾ ñð´#q
,

droid razr maxx 16gb or 32gb

,

droid razr maxx 16gb vs 32gb

,
droid razr m micro sd card
,
droid razr m sd card format
,

how to format sd card to exfat on android

,
how to replace micro sd card android
,
razr m format sd card