External Antenna Adapter

Discussion in 'Android Accessories' started by bspill, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. sm1nts2escape

    sm1nts2escape New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would really like to find a way to use a external antenna.Tryed the 228 but I get us cellular your service is not allowed.Updates please.Thanks
     
  2. orangepeel

    orangepeel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with just the antenna not being much help,but my cryfe amp with a small antenna that I bought from Maximum Signal keeps me at full bars,and will drop to 3 if I'm going down a very steep hill.The guy stands behind his stuff,so if you don't like it send it back within the time frame. I used it on my old phone,and my Sprint Data card....and plan on using it with my Droid when I get it.

    Here is my set-up for my truck:

    https://www.maximumsignal.net/store/product.php?productid=16200&cat=1&page=1
     
  3. Whitefish

    Whitefish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How on Earth are you supposed to connect a cord to the plug which is inside the phone and requires that the back is off?
     
  4. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you take the back off
     
  5. coolkidd

    coolkidd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I live in a pretty remote area, I would definitely buy the external antenna; but for now *228 would do the job.
     
  6. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    Not true. I worked for VZW for over 2 years. Although when asked these questions I had to say no there isn't anything (because VZW didn't sell it). My parents, however used a Wilson antenna booster, not sure how much they paid for it, but they had a couple dB difference in signal with it attached. YMMV.
     
  7. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    I'm going to comment about this, but have a feeling it might have been answered already. What you did was update your PRL roaming list. If new towers were either built, or roaming partner towers either added or removed, will be mapped to your phone. It is updated usually about every 30 or 60 days. The fact you might have seen a big difference is your phone may have had an older PRL and when you updated it, there was a tower that was not previously mapped that you found.
     
  8. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    You are roaming if you're getting US Cellular. You'll have to wait until you're in native VZW coverage area to do the PRL Update *228 option #2
     
  9. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    :icon_ devil:
     
  10. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was a silly question wasn't it :icon_ banana:
     
  11. sm1nts2escape

    sm1nts2escape New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    anything?I guess I should call wilson electronics?
     
  12. charlest92626@yahoo.com

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In a house
    Ratings:
    +0
    RE: external antennas

    They DO work! I used this antenna "wilsonelectronics Quad-Band Magnet Mount Antenna (304202)" I had a continuious connection from LA to Seattle. In an hotel room I had NO Bars, connected the antenna, magic 3 bars.

    Proper antenna, cables, connection, and placement, will give you dramatic results, I work with RADIO's I have never been in sales.

     
Search tags for this page
android external antenna
,
antenna for android phone
,

droid 3 external antenna

,

droid 4 external antenna

,
droid external antenna port
,
droid x external antenna port
,
external antenna android
,
external antenna connector
,
external antenna for android phone
,
where is the antenna on a droid x2