External Antenna Adapter

Discussion in 'Android Accessories' started by bspill, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. bspill
    Offline

    bspill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently, the Droid does have an external antenna jack (according to Viperboy). Now - where to get an adapter for the jack? If anyone has found one, please let me know.
     
  2. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, where exactly is this external antenna port? I see nothing on my phone that resembles anything like an antenna port... Unless you can plug it into the USB somehow?

    I R Confused.
     
  4. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    circled in red
    antenna.jpg
     
  5. bspill
    Offline

    bspill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pandroid - The link refers to a velcro attachment, not a direct connect to the jack. The jack is located under the battery cover, just beside the battery. There should be an adapter available that plugs into that jack and connects to an external antenna via an FME connector.
     
  6. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is an optional upgrade for $14.95 to the antenna i linked to. the upgrade replaces the velcro attachment with a male FME connector for the RF port. click on the tiny image on the left of the page to see what im talking about.

    this is the adapter i think they are referring to
    Cell Phone Antenna Adapters/ Connectors Wilson Electronics/ Cellular/ Wire

    but as i said, any antenna with a male FME connector should work just fine. but dont quote me on the male FME connector, its possible it could be something else.
     
  7. tdawg5480
    Offline

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to be rude but I once was in phone sales and external antennas and such do almost nothing for signal. if your in your car and get 0 bars an antenna is the same as holding your phone out the window if you can get 1 bar with the antenna you can get it with the phone held outside.
    Not that its feasible. HOWEVER an amplified antenna could get you slightly better reception but not much. I speak from personal experience and thought Id chime in our mileages may vary just a waste IMHO id rather save the money and buy another droid hehe
     
  8. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    have you tried dialing *228 and rerouting to find the nearest cell tower?

    It's a free fix and it worked for me. I got better signal after I did this.
     
  9. AdamTr
    Offline

    AdamTr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain exactly what this does, and why would one do it?
     
  10. cuskit
    Offline

    cuskit Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hanging Out at the Jersey Shore
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easy. Just dial *228 on your phone (verizon service only) and follow the prompt for option #2. It will take only a moment or two, then your phone will restart automatically. Simple! It's a good idea actually to do this at monthly intervals, or anytime you have trouble connecting to a cell tower.

    mike

    Edit:
    Oop! Reread your question - not the answer you were looking for. Not enough sleep... ;)

    I'll have to let another give the tech reason on how it works, but I do know it does the job. Why do it? Any time you are having difficulty connecting to a tower, or getting lost calls. Which is rare for most VZW customers...
     
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    It updates your Tower list...You do it to make sure you have the latest tower information....
     
  12. BigCityVa
    Offline

    BigCityVa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did *228, and went from 1 bar to 3 bars!! Thanks guys.
     
  13. sm1nts2escape
    Offline

    sm1nts2escape New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would really like to find a way to use a external antenna.Tryed the 228 but I get us cellular your service is not allowed.Updates please.Thanks
     
  14. orangepeel
    Offline

    orangepeel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with just the antenna not being much help,but my cryfe amp with a small antenna that I bought from Maximum Signal keeps me at full bars,and will drop to 3 if I'm going down a very steep hill.The guy stands behind his stuff,so if you don't like it send it back within the time frame. I used it on my old phone,and my Sprint Data card....and plan on using it with my Droid when I get it.

    Here is my set-up for my truck:

    https://www.maximumsignal.net/store/product.php?productid=16200&cat=1&page=1
     
  15. Whitefish
    Offline

    Whitefish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How on Earth are you supposed to connect a cord to the plug which is inside the phone and requires that the back is off?
     
Search tags for this page
android phone with external antenna connection
,

droid 3 external antenna

,
droid 4 extermal antenna
,

droid 4 external antenna

,
droid external antenna port
,
droid x external antenna
,
droid x external antenna port
,
external antenna connector
,
mobile phone antenna connector android
,
where is the antenna on a droid x2