1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Extensions

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by metalspring, May 31, 2011.

  1. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    What exactly do the modules do in the kernels do? Do they help improve performance and how would I go about using them?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. jpin321
    Offline

    jpin321 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your talking about ext2 and tun. I would like to know as well. I know that ext* are file systems but have no idea what they change.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Come on...no one can answer??
    I wanna know why the modules are so important since so many use them...actually I think there should be a sticky in here about them

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. jpin321
    Offline

    jpin321 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't believe nobody is chiming in... I would have thought chevy would have said something by now. I tried googling but it not yielding anything helpful.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. MANATARMS
    Offline

    MANATARMS New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are just the equivalent of drivers.

    One adds support for filesystems (ext2, ext3, etc.) The other supports network tunnels for VPN (tun).
  6. rafiki1
    Offline

    rafiki1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the ext modules are partition filesystems so when you are using links2sd you need those so the app can recognize the partitions on your sdcard, but they don't seem to work in the latest kernel/rom
  7. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    What about CIFS, NFS, and NTFS? File systems or networking? (Any of these apply to wifi?)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. MANATARMS
    Offline

    MANATARMS New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those are all filesystems. Nothing to do with wifi.
  9. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ah ok, I doubt I'll use apps2sd or links2sd or anything like that anytime soon...however which one would be best for a swap partition if any at all?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  10. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Neither, I just did this a couple weeks ago. Swap partition is completely different and separate. I just created a 64mb linux-swap partition on the SD using minitool partition wizard home edition , and a 1024mb ext3 partition because I wanted to use link2sd to free up phone space. But it won't recognize the partition, gotta try a separate script I think. As far as the swap, it's made my phone run lovely, especially in GB. If you do make it, you have to use swapper2 to use it, then tell it to use the swap partition, not just a swap file. I think there's a script for that somewhere as well by kevdog in the Cyanogen threads. I haven't applied it yet, but I'm going to just because I don't want to always have swapper2 taking up RAM.

    Let me know if you run into any problems...or questions:)
  11. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    I'm still not yet sure if a swap partition is really needed with compcache though

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  12. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my experience, compcache bogs down my phone so much it's barely useable, but I don't have this problem when using swapper 2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  13. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    You know what, I was on 5.3 and Just flashed 5.4 over it. And noticed it still wasn't running as nice as previously, even with logging off and build.prop tweaks. Then noticed in SetCPU that swapfree was over 100mb. Which is the 64mb swap partition running alongside the 40ishMB for compcache. So I disabled compcache and things are running back to normal. You'd think that it'd run smoother with both enabled, but I guess not the case.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  14. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, some people can run compcache and some people can't, not even installing faster kernels help when I have compcache enabled

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums