Extensions

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by metalspring, May 31, 2011.

  1. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    What exactly do the modules do in the kernels do? Do they help improve performance and how would I go about using them?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. jpin321

    jpin321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your talking about ext2 and tun. I would like to know as well. I know that ext* are file systems but have no idea what they change.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Come on...no one can answer??
    I wanna know why the modules are so important since so many use them...actually I think there should be a sticky in here about them

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. jpin321

    jpin321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe nobody is chiming in... I would have thought chevy would have said something by now. I tried googling but it not yielding anything helpful.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. MANATARMS

    MANATARMS New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are just the equivalent of drivers.

    One adds support for filesystems (ext2, ext3, etc.) The other supports network tunnels for VPN (tun).
     
  6. rafiki1

    rafiki1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the ext modules are partition filesystems so when you are using links2sd you need those so the app can recognize the partitions on your sdcard, but they don't seem to work in the latest kernel/rom
     
  7. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    What about CIFS, NFS, and NTFS? File systems or networking? (Any of these apply to wifi?)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. MANATARMS

    MANATARMS New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those are all filesystems. Nothing to do with wifi.
     
  9. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Ah ok, I doubt I'll use apps2sd or links2sd or anything like that anytime soon...however which one would be best for a swap partition if any at all?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  10. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Neither, I just did this a couple weeks ago. Swap partition is completely different and separate. I just created a 64mb linux-swap partition on the SD using minitool partition wizard home edition , and a 1024mb ext3 partition because I wanted to use link2sd to free up phone space. But it won't recognize the partition, gotta try a separate script I think. As far as the swap, it's made my phone run lovely, especially in GB. If you do make it, you have to use swapper2 to use it, then tell it to use the swap partition, not just a swap file. I think there's a script for that somewhere as well by kevdog in the Cyanogen threads. I haven't applied it yet, but I'm going to just because I don't want to always have swapper2 taking up RAM.

    Let me know if you run into any problems...or questions:)
     
  11. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm still not yet sure if a swap partition is really needed with compcache though

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  12. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    In my experience, compcache bogs down my phone so much it's barely useable, but I don't have this problem when using swapper 2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  13. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    You know what, I was on 5.3 and Just flashed 5.4 over it. And noticed it still wasn't running as nice as previously, even with logging off and build.prop tweaks. Then noticed in SetCPU that swapfree was over 100mb. Which is the 64mb swap partition running alongside the 40ishMB for compcache. So I disabled compcache and things are running back to normal. You'd think that it'd run smoother with both enabled, but I guess not the case.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  14. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Yeah, some people can run compcache and some people can't, not even installing faster kernels help when I have compcache enabled

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums