ext2

Discussion in 'Raidzero' started by Zepius, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey RZ,

    Can you create a ext2.ko module to allow swap/link2sd? you'll be my hero again!

    -Zep
  2. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RZ :(

    you make me a sad panda.
  3. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    haha. sorry I have been busy. I really haven't touched android in a while. I will make this module and add it to my site in the modules section
  4. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hooray! you want to be my hero!
  5. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    here you go... ext2, ext3, ext4 modules all in the modules section of my FTP.
  6. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i need to do anything special to get them included other than move them to the proper location in the zip or even on the phone?
  7. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Nothing special, just put the files in /system/lib/ and add their entries to the initscript that loads modules on boot (on my ROM that is /system/etc/init.d/01modules)
  8. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok. i looked at your 01modules... it looks the same as pe4.2... do i need to just add the script name to that file in a similar format?

    so would it be:

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    MODULES="/system/lib/modules/ipv6.ko"
    for i in $MODULES;
    do
        insmod $i;
    done
    MODULES1="/system/lib/modules/ext2.ko"
    for i in $MODULES1;
    do
        insmod $i;
    done
    
  9. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    that will work but this is easier
    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    MODULES="/system/lib/modules/ipv6.ko /system/lib/ext2.ko /system/lib/ext3.ko /system/lib/ext4.ko"
    for i in $MODULES;
    do
        insmod $i;
    done
    
  10. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thanks, i wasnt sure if i could do that :)
  11. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Np.. fyi, in shell scripts for loops on variables operate on the values in the variable delimited by spaces.

    i is the iterator, in this case i = 4, since there are 4 values in the variable $MODULES. it performs the "do" action on each item until there are no more (i = 4) (at the same time, i is equal to the string delimited by spaces)
  12. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right. i appreciate your help RZ. once again, you are my hero.
  13. blkhwk
    Offline

    blkhwk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spacecoast
    is this done in terminal emulator? I've tried and when i do the first commands, #!/system/bin/sh it says not found...thanks
  14. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    no, that is a shell script
  15. blkhwk
    Offline

    blkhwk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spacecoast
    thanks i'll give it a shot in GScript. One question though. I've been trying to get link2sd working since last night and a lot have been saying jpd.ko then ext2.ko instead of where you have ipv6.ko then ext2.ko, any difference?
  16. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    It's meant to be run as an initscript in /etc/init.d... but the order the modules are loaded in makes no difference unless one is dependent on another.
  17. chiefvelo
    Offline

    chiefvelo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zepius, did you get swap/link2sd working on baseline? I would be interested in your link2sd success and steps to get it working.
    Thanks
  18. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont use baseline, but i got swap working. i really never got link2sd working.
Similar Threads
  1. Zepius
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,903
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid x ext2 support
,
ext2 for og droid
,

ext2.ko

,
ext2.ko module
,
ext2.ko module for android
,

ext2.ko or ext3.ko module

,
ext3.ko module
,
how to install ext2.ko
,
how to make your android ext2 supported
,
kyros+android ext2.ko
,
libext4.ko
,
samsung ext2.ko