Exchange server sync limitations - Are there any?

Catrinisin

Reaction score
Hi all, true Droid newbie here,

Does anyone know what limitations the Droid 2 has with Exchange synchronization? I have read rumors about things like, Tasks not syncing from Exchange, calendar appointments not being able to be marked as accepted/rejected, etc.

Are these claims true? What other, if any, limitations exist?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

We are using Exchange 2003 currently, and will be upgrading to 2007 or 2010 in the near future if this matters.

keiichi25

Reaction score
While I am not a Droid X user (Currently still a Moto Droid 1 user), the noticeable limitations with Exchange tends to be sync lag.

I don't have any 'tasks' that get synced up, as I don't believe Droid's standard apps have 'Tasks' or even 'Notes' that is normally part of the Exchange part that Blackberry users have had. Response time for mail, I have noticed sometimes lags a little, although recently, myself being on an Exchange 2008 server, I have noticed that recently, I am getting mail on my phone before my Outlook 2003 program on the computer.

One of the things I have noted, though cannot explain, is changing some of my habits with the phone, such as originally, I treated it like the Blackberry where I wanted it not to receive anything at certain times, and that may have been a contributing factor in how it was having problems with receiving mail with regards to connectivity (Normally, the Blackberry Push server keeps trying to push... From my observations severing connectivity for long periods of time might put some sort of token sequence out of whack with servers and unless you force a sync, it may not sync right.)

I have heard several people complaining about the default client on the Droid X deleting e-mail on their accounts. Again, I am a Droid 1 user and haven't seen that problem, but I am not going to discount it simply because I have not seeing it.