Exchange in 2.2

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by cavillis, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was extremely excited for android 2.2, as it implemented the policies my work requires for EAS. Here they are laid out straight from our internal website:

    Unfortunately, whenever I try to setup my exchange account it get an error message saying "This phone does not have the security protocols required" - I never had a problem setting this up on my iPhone. Can anyone verify that all the protocols google claimed for 2.2 are working on BB?
  2. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump of desperation!
  3. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't seen anything about local wipe on 2.2...are you sure 2.2 supports that feature? That could be your gap....have you tried entering in the wrong PIN 10 times (make a nandroid first) to see what happens?
  4. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One other (unlikely) suggestion...my company has a sync server that I've been able to use w/out having to deal w/the policy issues. it's name is sync.<company domain name>.com.

    I use that to set up my exchange account and never have any issues...worth a shot in the dark if this type of server configuration is common...my Blackberry I had before my Droid had automatic setup of email accounts (BIS, not BES) and it used the sync.<company domain>.com server as well...
  5. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried but there is no sync.***.com - thanks for the suggestion though
  6. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this looks to be the correct problem - no wipe happened after 15+ invalid pins.

    Is there a way to request features from pete?
    This is a very simple protocol to implement, wipe user data on 10 failed attempts. Optional (default off) unless you have synced an account that requires it.
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Earlier this week, I switched to Pete's BB v01. I use and Exchange account and was able to re-add without any issues. It may be worth your time to contact your IT folks and ask them about the SSL and other settings.

    Mike
  8. lumpysherman
    Offline

    lumpysherman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on 2.2 and am using RoadSync for my exchange account. Touchdown may work also but it's twice as much as RoadSYnc but also more robust.
  9. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bumping, hoping Pete will read this thread - really want a way to at least tell the server this protocol is supported by my phone
  10. lokiju
    Offline

    lokiju New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if you ever got around this but one things worth trying is to see if your Exchange admin can clear out all the associated mobile devices from your mailbox and then have you try again.

    Also have your Exchange admin check and see if the "Allow non-provisionable Devices" is checked off, though if it wasn't iPhones shouldn't work also.
  11. cavillis
    Offline

    cavillis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried these with no change to the error -- i'm glad someone still took an interest though :)

    still dying over here to get corporate email on my droid :(
  12. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It works perfectly for me. After unlocking I have to enter my PIN to access phone .