Estrongs File Explorer

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Baconstrip, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. Baconstrip
    Offline

    Baconstrip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    I just wanted to sing the praises of Estrongs file explorer over Astro. When I first got my droid, I read everywhere that Astro was a must have program, that it was the best manager, etc etc. I honestly wasn't overly happy with the program for some reason and went in search of another file manager.

    I stumbled across Estrongs and I have to say it is definitely amazing. Not only does it have a much nicer display mode (details!), but it has a zip feature, and best of all, it allows you to connect to your PC's over wifi and transfer files. Just put in the ip address of your networked PC that you want to access, then the PC's username\login and you're in. Worked like a charm.

    Give it a try!
  2. normwerner
    Offline

    normwerner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MIlford, MI
    I can certainly second these praises for the Estrong File Manager. I am able to integrate my Droid seemless ly into my WIFI network and move files back and forth between it and my PC. Great stuff. MOstoif the problems that I have had were due to pilot error and a steep learning curve.

    Norm

    Norm
  3. volando
    Offline

    volando New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow that program is awesome, i've been looking for a file manage of that type -> you can almost feel like you're in windows explorer if you turn on all the details...

    A problem though: I want to play music/video files FROM this file manager, however if i launch them, i can't seem to background the player. As soon as you press home or switch to any other app (even advanced task killer) the music stops! I want it to behave just like if you'd click on an mp3 in windows explorer... not sure whether this is a bug or a feature...
  4. DaHarder
    Offline

    DaHarder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Estrongs certainly has my vote.
  5. the_kwa
    Offline

    the_kwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can't seem to connect to my pc, any help?
  6. Realistic
    Offline

    Realistic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Do I have to set up some kind of server program on my computer? Samba or something? I'm reading up as I go along here.
  7. the_kwa
    Offline

    the_kwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the way i'm reading it, you type in you IP in the server box. I have a user name for my pc but no password. I type in my user name and leave the password box blank. Doesn't seem to work for me.
  8. the_kwa
    Offline

    the_kwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    got it...

    leave "smb://" then add the ip address
  9. Realistic
    Offline

    Realistic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I keep getting an error then it force closes. Ip address is what i found doing a ipconfig in cmd entered my user and password. I'm using windows 7 this wouldn't have anything to do with it?
  10. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    If you have windows firewall turned on it could be a problem.
  11. the_kwa
    Offline

    the_kwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, now it's not letting me in with a user name and password..

    i REALLY want this app to work
  12. the_kwa
    Offline

    the_kwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone what to help me figure out what i'm doing wrong?:)
  13. msheldon
    Offline

    msheldon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Possibilities
    1. You did configure your computer to share a folder, right?
    2. This will likely only work if your Droid is on a Wifi network that your computer can talk to. I can't imagine this working over the 3G, and even if it did, that would be a *bad thing* for your computer.
    3. Have you tested from another computer to see if you can access the share? Preferably one on the same Wifi network as your droid.

    I did have a weirdness with mine once. It connected, and I transferred files. But shortly after, the connection dropped, and nothing I did could get it to work again, even deleting the config and setting it back up again. I ended up configuring it for a different IP (my computer has multiple IP addresses), and it's worked fine ever since.
  14. dahlin
    Offline

    dahlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might need set a password instead of the empty password, that's what i have done and success.
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. Make sure you leave the " smb:// " with the IP address.

    2. Make sure you have a password set for the Main Account on your PC. (Admin)

    3. :greendroid:Check your user name on your PC:greendroid: (Admin account). This was my problem. Though I have my Admin account named "Scott" it shows up as "User" when I try to set permissions for sharing for an individual user. The other accounts on my computer show up with the correct name but my admin account ("Scott") isn't listed. It is actually the "User" account. I tried entering 'admin', 'administrator', 'Scott', etc for my login name to the server on my DROID and it never worked. I tried "User" and it worked.

    4. I didn't have to alter firewall setting but I did for another app called GmoteServer but that required a server download on my PC whereas EStrong doesn't require that.
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  16. mwinne
    Offline

    mwinne New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Coastal NC, USA
    Can someone explain how to backup apps with EStrongs, I can't seem to figure it out.
  17. dahlin
    Offline

    dahlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Goto app manager, the icon is on toolbar.
  18. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was unable to back up Beautiful Widgets with EStrongs.... it did not list any widgets in the list for back up. I installed Astro File Manager to back up my widget. Still prefer EStrongs though.
  19. moot
    Offline

    moot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks will give it a try!
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2009
  20. mack38
    Offline

    mack38 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would like to love ES Explorer, but it doesn't seem to be working out for me.

    I've followed all directions:
    PC Firewall-off
    Set up username/password
    Entered IP address
    Connected to Wifi

    I just keep getting connection error..."Network path not found....etc" Any advice on what the deal may be...

    My Gmote app works perfectly, so I don't understand what the issue is here...Help Please. Thanks!
Search tags for this page
es file explorer copy failed
,
es file explorer manual
,

es file explorer sorry no application available

,
es file explorer user manual
,

estrong

,
estrong file manager for android newbies
,
estrong how to use
,
estrongs file explorer login fails on windows 8
,
estrongs pc wifi login
,
estrongs vs astro
,
estrongs.
,
what is estrong