"Essentially" make your Droid screen higher resolution tutorial!!!

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by mrpotatohead99, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. mrpotatohead99

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using the default launcher? If you use a custom launcher like LauncherPro or ADW you can customize the number of rows and columns, essentially changing the size of the grid. :)
     
  2. mrpotatohead99

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are probably noticing lag due to the 200 value actually. It's not a very mathematically efficient number to use for the DPI, at least on the Droid. Try 192 and let me know what you think. You should find that it improves the speed of your phone. :) If that doesn't work try setting the DPI to 192 manually using one of the 2 methods in the OP instead of using LCDDensity. Uninstall LCDDensity before you try it manually.
     
  3. mrpotatohead99

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow! Duh! I can't believe that didn't cross my mind! Lol. Sometimes you're so intent on testing, analyzing, programming, etc you forget to step back and take a look at the whole. Thank you!
     
  4. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey im trying to do this on my droid that is running Bugless Beast V0.5 and when I type the following line:

    "nano /system/build.prop" & hit enter

    all I get is:

    nano: not found

    What do I do now? Do I just keep on entering the next lines of code or am I missing something here? Thanks :)
     
  5. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB doesn't have nano - use a different text editor. You definitely can't skip that step - that's the only important step!
     
  6. jddevinn

    jddevinn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those of y'all having trouble with the commands, the easiest way to do this is with root explorer (cost a few $ but you hopefully already have it as it makes everything easier). Just open it up navigate to system, switch to rw (top right), scroll down to build.prop, long click, then select "Open in text editor", scroll down a page or so and change the value, save and reboot. Root explorer will automatically save a .bak copy of the file......

    while your in their take a look around if you want theirs plenty you can change safley, wifi scan intervals (save battery), turn the hard button light time out off, the dalvik.vm heapsize......
     
  7. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good stuff..thanks!
     
  8. Techenigma

    Techenigma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ventura County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously this is awesome. I love the screen rel estate now. I absolutely hate having to open apps to get to things or view info, so my world revolves around widgets. Between this tip and launcherpro's customizable rows/columns on home screens I am set for life. Thanks for this.
     
  9. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ok. I went ahead and downloaded the LCD Density Changer app from the market. It was cheap and all I had to do was enter in a number. I love the increased workspace and it has also helped me improve my typing with the various on screen keyboards. :D
     
  10. Rhino413

    Rhino413 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question

    I love the smaller DPI and extra screen space
    but Beautiful widgets just doesn't like it
    nor does pure calender/messenger widget

    so for those who have been using this what clock widgets are you using and
    if your using a messenger widget and calender widget could you throw me some suggestions to try

    thanks guys
     
  11. neilrl79

    neilrl79 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, maybe i'm just missing something but how do i open "Spare Parts"

    edit: Well, although i really liked the look of the home screen, I ended up restoring a back up because i was stuck with the default wallpaper and my status_bar_backround was in the middle of the screen instead of in the corner where it was supposed to be.
     
  12. kennydied23

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Open your app drawer and if you have it installed just scroll down to it and tap on it, like any other app.
     
Search tags for this page
apps to make android screen resolution higher
,
change android resolution without root
,
h ow to make my androids resolution higher
,

how to change screen resolution on android without root

,
how to improve android screen resolution
,

how to increase display quality in android

,
how to increase screen resolution in android
,
how to increase screen resolution on android without root
,
how to make your phone screen quality better
,

improve screen quality android