ESE sbf broke root?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Bob Dammit, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    This started in another thread and has evolved into its own problem. I flashed the ESE53 sbf, and planned on installing BB v0.7. The sbf flash went through, but it broke root, and trying to apply the root update patch isnt working. Any ideas?

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package..
    Verifying update package...
    E:EOCD marker occurs after start of EOCD
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted


    Firmware version:
    2.1-update1

    Baseband version:
    C_01.3E03P

    Kernel version:
    2.6.29-omap1-gb5cd919
    android-build@apa26 #1

    Build number:
    voles-userdebug 2.1-update1 ESE53 25914 test-keys
     
  2. MNTNBKR

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just watching...
     
  3. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Re: [Release] Droid 2.1 ESE53 SBF file

    Warning: This file will completely wipe your phone, unroot it and overwrite the stock recovery image and is NOT the official release version of 2.1 for the Droid. If you flash this file you will be unable to return to a previous rootable 2.0.1 version without using one of the other SBF files. This build DOES have Live Wallpapers and the 2.1 Launcher.

    Back to the drawing board. 2.0.1 was rootable, right?
     
  4. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, back to 2.0.1 and use a nandroid backup to get onto a custom 2.1 ROM. That's how it has to be done right now.

    Did you not read/understand what the sbf file does before you used it?
    Do you have a better understanding of it now?
     
  5. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    [hang head in shame]Yeah, I read everything but the bold print.[/hang head in shame]
    On the upside, the rsd lite is a nice program. :icon_ banana:
     
  6. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    The ESE53 sbf is very rootable. But yeah, if you aren't familiar with the internal workings of Android, leave it be, and use a custom ROM. :)
     
  7. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Im more that willing to learn, but finding that information isnt as easy as I thought it was. I guess I just dont know where to look yet.
     
  8. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just slap my a$$ and call me Sally. I just got everything back to normal, flashed BB v0.7, fired the droid back up, and Im running Ultimate Droid 6.0. That sucks! I couldnt even flash the current nandroid of the wrong ROM. :icon_evil:
     
  9. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    You gotta use the magicandroidapps method. And also, what's weird is ese53 already has root via adb shell, but NOT via terminal on the actual phone.

    So having root in adb shell allows you to flash sprecovery, and THEN apply the update.zip root. Then you have to push the su file over to the phone....and chmod it....

    And then you will be completely rooted.

    PS: thanx to adrynalyne with helping me out with the exact order of that process
     
  10. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks nate. Ill have to play later, I was having all kinds of issues today, from corrupted drivers all the way to installing the wrong rom. I couldnt even abd into my droid at one point today.
    Ive had to uninstall and reinstall drivers, flash the sbf twice, back up, format, and restore my sd card, and now Im about to try to flash BB v0.7. Im just about done "Droiding"* for the day.

    *"Droiding" -(verb) the act of compulsively modding ones Droid excessively, to the point of losing track of time, usually measured in hours.

    Hell, If "unfriend" can make Websters, I can get "Droiding" in there next year!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im trying to stay away from the magicandroidapps method. I am playing with an update.zip I modified.

    The magicandroidapps way works, but it causes problems in other ways.
     
  12. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh really? Well thanx for sharing that now!! :p j/k
     
  13. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    I backed up all my apps through astro, even my paid apps. If I reinstall everything through astro, will I get market updates from everything except the paid apps, or do I need to re install everything through the market?
     
  14. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I can do is laugh
     
  15. redstevie

    redstevie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :huh:
    is there a complete step by step guide for a newbie like me?