1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Error when running update.zip...

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Kloster, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright so this is my first smartphone and I wanted to get rid of the bloatware so I rooted and while I was at it I thought why not check out this 2.2 thing that everyone freaked out about.
    I used the guide here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-x-hacks/74980-droid-x-hacking-guide-s.html

    Everything worked out fine until the part where I actually run the zip.
    update.zip is in the root of my mem. card but i get the following error when trying to install:

    assert Failed,
    some stuff about cdma_shadow
    E: Error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    So Im thinking the zip is corrupted or something, but when I try to view the files in my memory card update.zip is no longer there :icon_eek: (as in if I browse it Ill see only DevIcon and DevLogo but Astro shows more folders and files...)
    I try formatting the card(via right click -> format) and it was successful but the files are still there, when I try to copy a new update.zip file it fails halfway through and just tells me its not gonna happen.

    Help?
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Not sure about the X but things to consider:

    more than one ".zip" extension on the file
    more that one update.zip on the card
    as you already mentioned corrupt file.

    Mike
  3. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so how can I properly format the memory card since doing it over windows doesnt do it?

    Id like to format it and put in another update.zip
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    You do not need to reformat to remove the existing file. Connect/mount to you computer and delete. Then, drag and drop the new file.
  5. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But when browsing the memory card on Windows I dont see all the files that are there.
    For example I know for a fact that I successfully copied update.zip to the memory card but when I open the folder on my computer I dont see it.

    Its still there, I just cant modify it.
    Reformatting it via windows doesnt solve the problem either.
    I tried deleting the file using Astro but Its greyed out for me(possibly cause Im on the free version?), regardless of that there must be a way to properly reformat it.

    EDIT:
    I just saw that my phone can do it, doh...
    Will try that now.
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I have a Droid and I believe the file structure on the card of the X may be different. I would believe that you can insert the SD card into your computer via a micro card reader and reformat. Let me see if I can get a member of RS who has an X to weigh in.

    Mike
  7. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Error 7 is you deleted a system app and you need to put it back on there. i had this happen a few times. if you run it again it will tell you what app it is, just read it carefully
  8. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I managed to reformat using the phone and it worked.
    I transferred a new copy of update.zip without any problems.

    BUT I still get the error, Ill copy it in full this time:
    Thanks a lot for the replies :)
  9. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first smartphone and I just got it today, as far as I know I havent deleted any apps but I wouldnt put it past me.
    is cdma_shadow the app?
    Where can I get it?

    Thanks a lot.
  10. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    that might be you dont have the proper build.prop (which is the cdma_shadow)
  11. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and how can I correct that?
    EDIT:
    and why would it be a wrong build.prop?
    My phone is stock, only thing that Ive done to it is download Astro and root it using the 1 click method from the guide posted in this forum.
  12. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    did you change anything in the /system? and im not positive about this, this is just my guess at why its not working
  13. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I havent modified anything that the guide didnt say.
    I literally opened up the box my phone came in and started following steps.
    Is it possible to just download a build.prop and transfer it to my phone?
    Anything else I can do?

    I just got the phone so I havent even added my contacts, if a factory reset will do it then I have no problems with that.
  14. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    like i said, its only a guess. cdma shadow is part of the build.prop.

    try out ROM manager and download the 2.2 on your phone like that and see if that fixes it. this is how i put 2.2 on my phone and worked fine for me

    you have the bootstrap and clockwork recovery flashed, dont you?
  15. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    PM From Kloster
    open bootstrap and select the first one. download rom manager (free) from market and flash clockwork recovery (first option). download ROM>Stock Images>2.2

    i did a backup then installed it without wiping data (but its recommended you do, not responsible for what happens)

    it then should boot into recovery and backup and install 2.2
  16. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thank you, using ROM Manager I got 2.2 :icon_ banana:
  17. 1694kyle
    Offline

    1694kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    If bootstrapper is installed, you can't install 2.2 with the "droid x hacking guide." Modified logwrapper is the issue I belive. The only way to use that method is flash sbf and start clean. Good to hear you got it.
  18. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will updating with ROM Manager cause me to lose root?
    If so, can I root in 2.2?
    If not, Id have to revert to to 2.1 then update using a rooted ROM right?
  19. 1694kyle
    Offline

    1694kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon

    I do not belive so, I didn't lose it at least. I had 2.1 themed so i had to flash sbf to get to stock and then I rooted using one-click, after that I did the ROM Manager update and and I was rooted after.

    I kept root, so I can only assume everyone will. If not, for some reason unknown, there are root methods for 2.2. Plenty on the forum if need be.
  20. Kloster
    Offline

    Kloster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thats very frustrating to me then because I cant remove bloatware using adb following the steps posted on this guide.
    I just get told permission denied, or access denied in a step or another.
    Im assuming thats because I dont have root.

    Is there any way for me to check that I have root?
Search tags for this page
e error executing update binary in zip
,
e error in /sdcard/update.zip (status 7)
,
e: error in sdcard/update.zip
,
e:error in /cache/fota/update.zip(status 26)
,

e:error in /sdcard/update.zip (status 2)

,
error ä±n/cache/update.zip (status 7)
,

error in /sdcard/update.zip status 7

,
error in sdcard status 7 motorola milestone update
,
error in sdcard update.zip status 2
,

error in sdcard update.zip status 7

,
error in tmp/update.zip status 7
,
file theme388(update).zip error. opencart
,
getprop ro.build.product.device
,
htc inspire error in sdcard:update.zip status 7
,
update zip from sd card status 7