Error when flashing Bugless

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by becominglumberg, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. becominglumberg
    Offline

    becominglumberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everytime I try to flash my droid to Bugless, the phone restarts to a screen with a warning sign (exclamation point in a triangle) next to a phone. nothing goes on for about 10 minutes, and then i can restart the phone by pressing the power button. is this a clockwork mod problem? has anyone seen this problem before?
  2. GeLopez
    Offline

    GeLopez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    you dont have root
  3. becominglumberg
    Offline

    becominglumberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply, but that is not the case. I used EasyRoot to root, and can use other root apps with no problems. Could it be anything else?
  4. GeLopez
    Offline

    GeLopez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    install rom manager from market
    install clockwork or sprecovery
  5. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    You're not missing root you're missing a custom recovery you have to flash SPR: SBF to root and to unroot, option 1 then option 2,(preferred) or flash CW: download Rom manager and flash Clockwork recovery, then you can install a custom Rom. I wouldn't use Rom Manager for anything else though. It's had serious problems lately.
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have Root but possibly not a custom recovery image, when you boot into recovery (power X) from a powered state, the triangle and exclamation point is all that comes up, if you get to this screen and press the volume and up on the volume rocker it brings you to another screen, this is the stock recovery.

    Easiest way I know to get a different recovery image is to find ROM manager (in the Market) and Download it, from within it you will have the option to flash CW Recovery or SPRecovery.
  7. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me neither, very unreliable lately
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    I've seen a lot of this lately tparker, People think if they root (with this "easy root" app) they can jump straight to installing a Rom, they don't know they need a custom recovery.

    That's why I say the easiest way to root is: SPR.sbf, then install a rooted Rom.
  9. becominglumberg
    Offline

    becominglumberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tallica -
    i've got root, so no problems there.

    for the install, could you please be more specific? i have flashed clockwork recovery, but i had planned on using rom manager to install bugless. is there a better way?
  10. Bimmerjo
    Offline

    Bimmerjo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aurora, MO
    Using RSDLite, I flashed on a virgin ese81.sbf, then flashed SPRecovery.SBF, then immediately loaded the ultimate droid 6.0. ROM. after that, I installed the latest baseband, then installed a .8Ghz kernel
  11. BuglessFan
    Offline

    BuglessFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not really sure why CWR has such a bad rap lately. The only issue I've ever noticed or seen reported is with newer recovery versions not updating. It's pretty easy to flash an old one then reflash the latest, or just stick with the older recovery as long as it's working for you. What other issues have you seen to call it unreliable? It's never hosed my system or failed to backup or restore.