Error on my recovery screen

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jesdroid, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an error on my recovery screen - E:can't open/cache/recovery/command I would like to backup my files but appears I'm unable to do so - any suggestions?? I don't want to proceed any further with ROM's etc until I understand where I'm at with this. Thanks!
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ok I am going to need some background. Are you on 2.2 or official 2.1
  3. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, thanks! Sorry to have posted in the wrong place
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not that....Your question might have been overlooked....
  5. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for helping me! I started with 2.1 and downgraded to 2.0.1 in the first step of rooting.
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ok if you can get rooted, you can use droid mod, but by now the 2.1 ota forced its way on you sdcard. If it does and you update to 2.1 again. Let me suggest to make it easier on yourself by using the rsdlite for 2.1 with sprecovery, that way you do not have to fight the ota.

  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ill get you the droidmod updater app
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    DroidMod Updater 11

    March 29, 2010 Camel 30 comments


    DMUpdater version 0.1.1 uses a new tool for reading and writing the recovery MTD that is compatible with users that have bad blocks. The updater should now work on every Droid, regardless of bad blocks. To install, click here directly from your phone’s browser.
  9. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I appreciate that!
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    if you are able to get this installed before the ota force its way on your device, click on "click here" in the above post and you can download it on your phone. If not then follow rsdlite 2 posts above after the ota is finished.
  11. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Downloading DMinstaller now (fingers crossed). Thanks for your help!
  12. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wipe/data? Say yes if you are using 2.1

    Should I click yes wipe/data but keep apps? Has the phone been updated at this point>
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yes soory...thats not really the important part though because you gaonna wipe everything again when you install 2.1 rooted version, ima bring you the link,
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    do this next:


    Root 2.1 by using SPRecovery

    1. Download ESE81update.zip
      thanks to Pete of Bugless Beast for creating this file
    2. rename the downloaded file to update.zip
    3. mount Droid to computer
    4. copy file from computer to root of sdcard
    5. unmount card from computer
    6. hold X while rebooting until SPRecovery screen comes up
    7. wipe data factory reset
    8. install
    9. allow update.zip
    10. install /sdcard/update.zip (depreciated)
    (ps if you have windows 7 rename it update)

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html
  15. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, one more thing I'm unsure about, once I chose "yes wipe/data, the next thing to come up was a choice between the two items below:

    Linus/Mac OS x Color bashrc
    Windows Non-Colored bashrc

    I have no clue what that means, lol. Guidance??:icon_eek:
  16. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    windows.................................
  17. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    its fine we are here to help. all droid mod is doing is installing su/ and sprecovery for us...do not worry about all that other stuff because after droid mod boot up you are going to put the ese 81 file on the root of your sdcard and flash that, which means you gonna install it and wipe data and cache again....but before you do I want you to make sure you have at least 60% battery life.
    I will be here watching this so I will help you.
  18. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok...getting ready to do the steps above....
  19. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    before you do, I want you to go into market and get a bettry widget (free one). Make sure you are at 60% battery do not want you bootlooping on me.
  20. jesdroid
    Offline

    jesdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BTW, I am at 60% battery right now...good to go??