Erase searches in Market Place ?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by countryboy_, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. countryboy_

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I search in Market place using the on screen key pad, the next time i go back the search is still listed there, after a while I have about 50 there now, any idea how to erase.......
     
  2. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you can't without root access
     
  3. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    That's what i have been told also.
     
  4. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    this would be correct...no root access, no deleting search history in market place
     
  5. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which I don't get either? Why wouldn't they put that option in. Its not a big deal to me but a lot people are going to want to clear it
     
  6. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    wish I knew that answer. I'm with you I don't care but a lot of people have been asking this very question.
     
  7. countryboy_

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Erase searches in Market Place

    I have figured that was the answer, I've trid everyway I know, thanks for the answer, I love this site, you guys are way above me in talent, I learn somthing new every day....
     
  8. dannydoes

    dannydoes Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with google maps. If you search for a location it's permanent. You should be able to clear it. Any ideas on that one?
     
  9. lumpysherman

    lumpysherman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Big brother wants to know what you are searching for. It would be nice to be able to clear that search. Hey Google, give us an option to save it.
     
  10. dannydoes

    dannydoes Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    So does my girlfriend.
     
  11. countryboy_

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Erase searches in Market place

    I was told this works
    1} go to menu, settings, applications, manage applications
    2} if you see your application there, click it and then click clear data
    3} if your application is not there press menu, filter, all
    4} click your application and then click clear data
    I found this on this site, how ever I have not tried it yet......
     
  12. Blackout

    Blackout New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0


    tried it just to see if it works, it dsnt lol
     
  13. dannydoes

    dannydoes Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, it's missing that option for both maps, and Marketplace. (clear data). It has clear cache, but it's grayed out on maps, and marketplace it doesn't remove the searches, it just has to reload all the icons again.
     
  14. MRex21

    MRex21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, how does one get root access to clear the searches?
     
  15. johfiner

    johfiner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it's because of "big brother," they could easily save your searches remotely. They don't need our searches to be stored locally on our phones to see what we're searching for!
     
Search tags for this page

delete search from market place