1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Erase searches in Market Place ?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by countryboy_, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. countryboy_
    Offline

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I search in Market place using the on screen key pad, the next time i go back the search is still listed there, after a while I have about 50 there now, any idea how to erase.......
  2. Jason
    Offline

    Jason New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    I think you can't without root access
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    That's what i have been told also.
  4. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    627
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    this would be correct...no root access, no deleting search history in market place
  5. Jason
    Offline

    Jason New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Which I don't get either? Why wouldn't they put that option in. Its not a big deal to me but a lot people are going to want to clear it
  6. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    627
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    wish I knew that answer. I'm with you I don't care but a lot of people have been asking this very question.
  7. countryboy_
    Offline

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Erase searches in Market Place

    I have figured that was the answer, I've trid everyway I know, thanks for the answer, I love this site, you guys are way above me in talent, I learn somthing new every day....
  8. dannydoes
    Offline

    dannydoes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I have the same problem with google maps. If you search for a location it's permanent. You should be able to clear it. Any ideas on that one?
  9. lumpysherman
    Offline

    lumpysherman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Big brother wants to know what you are searching for. It would be nice to be able to clear that search. Hey Google, give us an option to save it.
  10. dannydoes
    Offline

    dannydoes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    So does my girlfriend.
  11. countryboy_
    Offline

    countryboy_ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Erase searches in Market place

    I was told this works
    1} go to menu, settings, applications, manage applications
    2} if you see your application there, click it and then click clear data
    3} if your application is not there press menu, filter, all
    4} click your application and then click clear data
    I found this on this site, how ever I have not tried it yet......
  12. Blackout
    Offline

    Blackout New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York


    tried it just to see if it works, it dsnt lol
  13. dannydoes
    Offline

    dannydoes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    yea, it's missing that option for both maps, and Marketplace. (clear data). It has clear cache, but it's grayed out on maps, and marketplace it doesn't remove the searches, it just has to reload all the icons again.
  14. MRex21
    Offline

    MRex21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, how does one get root access to clear the searches?
  15. johfiner
    Offline

    johfiner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it's because of "big brother," they could easily save your searches remotely. They don't need our searches to be stored locally on our phones to see what we're searching for!
  16. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see rooting the phone as a even pay off just to be able to delete search history. OCD shows it's ugly head on the Droid forums! lol
  17. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    We need an OCD Forum....Complete with foil hats for all that enter....
Search tags for this page

delete search from market place