Enabling Scripts

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by weems, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. weems

    weems Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a couple questions.

    First, Can i hook up my phone to the PC and use this "ADB Shell" to type in all of my command lines? if so, where can i download it, or how do i access it?

    Second: I cannot seem to the scripts to work on the BB v 0.9 If i can get ADB Shell to work I can then take screenshots of what I am doing, so hopefully i can figure out what I am doing wrong.

    Thanks.
     
  2. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  3. weems

    weems Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks. I believe i saw the thread you were talking about. I sifted through the 6 or so pages and it didn't work. Maybe with this ADB i'll be able to find out what i'm missing.

    Thanks.
     
  4. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  5. gnome_sayin

    gnome_sayin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From page 9 of version 9 of Petes BB rom... Here are the commands that you need to use to enable the scripts. These can be done either in a terminal emulator window on your phone, or using ADB shell.

    I prefer to use ADB shell when running these commands because you can cut and paste when using the PC. To do this, highlight the line, not including (enter), of course.. and then in the adb shell window, right click and choose paste. It really helps with eliminating the typing errors!!

    adb shell (enter) <--- use if you are using your PC
    su (enter)
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system (enter)
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/enablescripts (enter)
    enablescripts (enter)

    Once you get this working, go back to page 1 of his ROM thread and start turning stuff on and off.. good luck!
     
  6. weems

    weems Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]

    hmmm. I couldn't figure out ADB, but this is a picture of the droid running Terminal Emulator.

    Either way, still says its denied... could this be something with "busybox" or w/e?
     
  7. weems

    weems Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    also tried this, but to no avail... I'm sure i'm just missing something easy :/

    [​IMG]
     
  8. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    First off, just so you know adb only works from a PC side. adb allows you to access your phone via command prompt. You can access other commands you can't through terminal, like push a file from your PC to a specific spot on the phone, and pull a file from the phone to your PC. A pretty nice writeup http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/30464-how-adb-why-i-love-adb-commands-3-a.html . Not that any of this matters right now, but that is why adb shell in terminal emulator comes up with errors.

    Maybe busybox doesn't have the right permissions.

    Code:
    su
    mountsys
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    Then try typing "droidboot" or whatever script you are trying to run.
     
Search tags for this page
allow scripts to run on android
,
allowing scripts to run o andeoid
,

enable script on android

,
how do i enable scripting on my droid
,
how to allow scrilts on droid
,
how to enable scripts on android
,
how too allow scripts on android
,
scripts android allow