1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Enable JIt: This is an updater file

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by P3Droid, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. P3Droid
    Offline

    P3Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can get better performance out of your phone by enabling JIT but it works best on the ESE53 build, below that and some have reported a worsening of performance.

    This is targeted to the ESE53 build but will work on any droid running a 2.1 build (it has only been tested on ESE53, ERE25)

    I apologize in advance but I provide all support for my items @ mydroidworld.com but want to share this with you. So if something doesn't work see me there.

    To use simply download to the root of your sdcard.
    rename to update.zip
    reboot into recovery
    install the update.zip

    I suggest using sprecovery for this but koush's (not tested) recovery should work as well.

    File Download
  2. mzimand
    Offline

    mzimand New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is awesome, thanks P3Droid.

    FYI- JIT is working great on the ERE53 Builds
  3. taypotts
    Offline

    taypotts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any way to confirm JIT is enabled? Like root with SU
  4. P3Droid
    Offline

    P3Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should use Linpack to test, my before score was 9.5xx after was 10.65x running @ 1100 mhz.
  5. mzimand
    Offline

    mzimand New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can read your System/Build.Prop and look at the last line to see if it show that the line was updated during the JIT update

    Also, I can tell by the various Benching results, especially with Linpack. I see a big increase in Mflops with this test with JIT enabled
  6. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Another confirmation that jit is working smooth on ese53. No browser issues like I had on 2.0.1 linpack went from 9.9 to 11.2 and 149 ms to 128 ms through setup benchmarks at 1.2
  7. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Working for me. Outside of linpack, what practical improvements should I look for?
  8. HolyGrail
    Offline

    HolyGrail Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does JIT stand for? The full name?
  9. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It stands for Just In Time compiling.
  10. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just In Time compiler.
  11. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried several implementations of JIT and they were all unstable, you guys had any issues?

    by the way has anyone else noticed the soft keyboard on ese53 being WAY more responsive than previous keyboards? looks the same but seems way better. Maybe I'll make another thread on this to gather opinions.
  12. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Have you tried it with the ese53? Because JIT has been stable for like 90% of users who have installed it since the 2.1 and along with the new kernels... Some are reporting 2 boot loops but after that , its said to work flawlessly.
  13. agent42o
    Offline

    agent42o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Seems to be working great for me, no fc's, no boots nothing, just more power.
  14. coryh83
    Offline

    coryh83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How will this effect battery usage?
  15. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats what I'm wondering...
  16. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    don't suppose it's mirrored somewhere? I don't really feel like registering at another forum just to download a file even if it means I can't have said file... just seems a bit wrong to post that and have it require registration.
  17. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can we turn this on and off?
  18. cvhovey
    Online

    cvhovey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Christmas Valley, Oregon
  19. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Pete made an update.zip for JIT too.. Look at the bottom of the thread here: Update.zip for JIT?

    Question: How do you disable JIT once you apply the update.zip?
  20. Balthazar
    Offline

    Balthazar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salina, KS
    +1 for how to turn it off, other than reflash my pre jit nandroid backup. I seem to be one of the few people having issues with it.

    Edit: I wound up going back to previous backup because no sooner than my last post I got another random reboot. I tried it on two different kernals, no luck. Back to BB v0.6 and a five slot kernal and everything is back to normal. I need to learn to just leave well enough alone and don't mess with it when it's working great anyway.
Search tags for this page

jitupdate.zip