Enable JIt: This is an updater file

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by P3Droid, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. P3Droid

    P3Droid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can get better performance out of your phone by enabling JIT but it works best on the ESE53 build, below that and some have reported a worsening of performance.

    This is targeted to the ESE53 build but will work on any droid running a 2.1 build (it has only been tested on ESE53, ERE25)

    I apologize in advance but I provide all support for my items @ mydroidworld.com but want to share this with you. So if something doesn't work see me there.

    To use simply download to the root of your sdcard.
    rename to update.zip
    reboot into recovery
    install the update.zip

    I suggest using sprecovery for this but koush's (not tested) recovery should work as well.

    File Download
     
  2. mzimand

    mzimand Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is awesome, thanks P3Droid.

    FYI- JIT is working great on the ERE53 Builds
     
  3. taypotts

    taypotts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any way to confirm JIT is enabled? Like root with SU
     
  4. P3Droid

    P3Droid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should use Linpack to test, my before score was 9.5xx after was 10.65x running @ 1100 mhz.
     
  5. mzimand

    mzimand Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can read your System/Build.Prop and look at the last line to see if it show that the line was updated during the JIT update

    Also, I can tell by the various Benching results, especially with Linpack. I see a big increase in Mflops with this test with JIT enabled
     
  6. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another confirmation that jit is working smooth on ese53. No browser issues like I had on 2.0.1 linpack went from 9.9 to 11.2 and 149 ms to 128 ms through setup benchmarks at 1.2
     
  7. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    Working for me. Outside of linpack, what practical improvements should I look for?
     
  8. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does JIT stand for? The full name?
     
  9. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    It stands for Just In Time compiling.
     
  10. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just In Time compiler.
     
  11. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've tried several implementations of JIT and they were all unstable, you guys had any issues?

    by the way has anyone else noticed the soft keyboard on ese53 being WAY more responsive than previous keyboards? looks the same but seems way better. Maybe I'll make another thread on this to gather opinions.
     
  12. Logan3824

    Logan3824 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried it with the ese53? Because JIT has been stable for like 90% of users who have installed it since the 2.1 and along with the new kernels... Some are reporting 2 boot loops but after that , its said to work flawlessly.
     
  13. agent42o

    agent42o Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems to be working great for me, no fc's, no boots nothing, just more power.
     
  14. coryh83

    coryh83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How will this effect battery usage?
     
  15. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats what I'm wondering...
     
Search tags for this page

android jit is enabled

,
jitupdate.zip