EMAIL--stupid me

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by lpulle, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't remember what I changed--tried to change setting to get better bat life and must have turned off the switch that let's in the E-MAIL

    ANY help _ thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. FergatROn

    FergatROn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's odd!? Which app are you using to get email? Google Mail or the Email app to get other emails via POP or IMAP? Also are you on a custom ROM or is it a stock version?
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    He's probably getting better battery life because it's not pushing for email.;)

    Where is he he posted that question at 8:00 this morning?
     
  4. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm here HOOK---had to go down and see what's happening at the lake--hope the let's up so i can catch some fish.

    I'm just using the e-mail from stock and now I can manual push it and get sometimes

    No ROM'S- -everything stock except rooted--too chicken to install Liberty, but when I do be.ready for questions

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well that's not good. What's your set up? Same question that FergatROn asked.
     
  6. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edited above

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. FergatROn

    FergatROn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    While lpulle is getting this answer together I'm going to take a stab in the dark and say it has something to do with your Gmail syncing with the Google servers. Check Settings > Accounts & sync so see if "background data" or "auto-sync" is enabled. Also; see if your Gmail account is syncing. It's on the same Activity (page).

    Also; check the Gmail app. Open it up: Menu > More > Settings > Labels. Tinker around and see what you come up with.
     
  8. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    cannot find

    I cannot find "background data" or "auto-sync". The screen shotshere will show what I'm finding. Sorry to be such an idiot but everyone will get old someday.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if I did a restore. Would that bring the email back To the way it was



    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I don’t know for sure, but I did a battery pull and set the email settings to push and it seems to be working ___who can tell

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. FergatROn

    FergatROn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is very odd... so we can probably categorize it as an anomaly or an unknown glitch, eh!? :D glad to see it worked out.
     
  12. lpulle

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help. Yes unknown whatever __ gonna keep an eye on it. Working good now


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App