Editing eri.xml

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by KZIWarrior, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have been trying to replace/edit the "Verizon Wireless" in the notification area by editing the eri xml in the framework-res.apk. I have followed the exact methods I've used on previous ROMs (including previous BB versions) but for some reason now whenever I replace the file on the phone the phone freezes at the Moto logo (luckily I can still booth into SPRecovery and restore). Any suggestions/secrets?? Thanks for the advice (and GREAT job on v1.1).

    Edit: And to those thinking I'm NOT looking for the pull-down editor 'app'... it's stupid to pay $3 for something that should take 30 secs (besides, according to latest reviews it's not working on the latest ROMs).
     
  2. RobStemen

    RobStemen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used Pulldown Editor on v1.1 just fine. Just make sure you make an update.zip.
     
    #2 RobStemen, Jun 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2010
  3. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    I understand what you're saying about not wanting to pay for what you can do yourself, but I just want to say the Pulldown Editor worked fine for me on both BB, both V1.0 and 1.1. After applying, though, I made sure to run the zipalign_apks script in recovery using adb on my laptop. EDIT: I just read RobStemen's post and want to note that I just used MM (old version) to run Pulldown Editor -- I didn't make it an update.zip file.

    How did you replace the file on your phone? I've found that I can't push my manually modded framework back using terminal emulator, but I've had success every time using adb on the pc.
     
  4. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    You generally don't want to push framework changes on the phone, or really while the phone is running at all I would recommend doing it in either recovery.

    KZI I was looking at it for a few last night. I've edited them manually before, trying to do it for my theme, Ill let you know when I get it worked out. If pulldown editor is working I can find out exactly what its editing anyhow.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can use a hex editor such as HxD
    Open the file and simply change what you wish and replace the file within the apk
     
  6. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh it seemed like that's the way he had done it before but when he pushed the file it wasn't working. If that works, then I needn't worry about it ATM.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's what I did (using 3 different Hex Editors) and every time I push the file back the phone gets stuck at the M logo on boot. I'll try HxD and see if anything changes.

    Do you recommend changing the file w/o unpacking or by unpacking and then repacking (I have tried BOTH methods and no success yet).
     
  8. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did mine on the mac and pushed it back on while in recovery using adb and it worked fine for me. Are you using the same number of letters? If you send me what you want I will mess around with it to see if I can get it to work on my phone as a test.
     
Search tags for this page
android eri.xml location
,
edit eri.xml android
,
edit eri.xml android apk
,
eri for htc rezound
,

eri.xml evo