[ROM] Eclipse v3.0 Droid 3 Port

Discussion in 'TeamHaters' started by davros, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    It happens to me, also.
  2. UltraMagnus0001
    Offline

    UltraMagnus0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. lotzakritters
    Offline

    lotzakritters New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. H.Wordsmythe
    Offline

    H.Wordsmythe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there - long time lurker, first time poster. I don't know if anyone still follows this thread, or if everyone has moved on to the Haters ROM, but in hopes that someone will see this and have an answer, I'll go ahead and post my question...

    I'm having major issues with battery life on this ROM. Standby is great, but when I'm using the phone, the battery drops 1% every 1-2 minutes. I've attempted battery calibration as recommended earlier in this thread (both manual and via app), but it hasn't worked. I made sure my battery was full when I flashed the ROM, and I followed wiping protocol before and after installation. I'm stumped. Do I just need to start over and flash it again? I hope to find a solution, because apart from this one issue, I'm loving this ROM!
  5. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are running an overclocked version? Because if you are i5 eats the battery very quickly as do all overclocked ROMs it seems. I am on MavRom 4.5 without overclock and battery seems to be stable. I tried Eclipse 3.0 and had the same issues that you are having with overclocked version.
  6. H.Wordsmythe
    Offline

    H.Wordsmythe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I'm running the non-OC'd version. And before I tried Eclipse, I tried Maverick 4.5 and had exactly the same problem. Odd, no? Although the Mavrom 4.5 thread does have quite a few posts about poor battery life... Still it makes me wonder about my battery. If I didn't have significantly better battery life on the stock ROM, I'd suspect it was just the hardware.
  7. njunior93
    Offline

    njunior93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can install the 5.6.890
  8. fatfishy
    Offline

    fatfishy New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't realize eclipse had become haters gonna hate rom but it installed for me on safestrap 3 and wifi tether is working so thanks for the heads up, pretty sure this ones is gonna be my daily. Sounds like you have a bad/old battery, have you tried a different one?
  9. H.Wordsmythe
    Offline

    H.Wordsmythe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I thought it could be a bad battery, but then why is the life on stock so much better? Last night I switched back over to my non-safe system when my battery in Eclipse was showing as 78%. Once I rebooted into non-safe, my battery showed 90%. Frustrating... Especially because Eclipse is about 100x better than stock in every other way!
  10. H.Wordsmythe
    Offline

    H.Wordsmythe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I just put in a new 1700mah battery, and there's no difference. I took the precaution of wiping battery stats before swapping batteries, and I left the phone off while charging up the new one, but still no luck. Damn. Guess I'll have to seriously consider switching to the Haters rom...
  11. crackface
    Offline

    crackface New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Been using this ROM just about since its release. Only issue I have is GPS:
    1) It sometimes takes 3 to 5 mins to get initial lock on first use. Once it has lock, I can't forcefully repro the issue (rebooting, etc.)....it just eventually happens again.
    2) It sometimes will lose GPS signal while driving with open skies. It almost always comes back after about 5 mins.
    3) It commonly will not place me on the correct road, but instead a nearby road, which obv makes a mess for following directions.

    Does anyone have suggestions for resolving this, or should I maybe try a diff rom?

    Thx in advance for any advice....
  12. rhcp1253
    Offline

    rhcp1253 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I tried to install with with ss3, and it just showed black screen for 5 min. Is this compatable with ss3?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  13. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    Some people have had luck getting this to boot with SS3, while others have not (like me). You could try flashing it several times and wipe data/cache in between each wipe to see if it will stick, but idk if it'll work.
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  14. giovannipaquier
    Offline

    giovannipaquier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ItanhaƩm, SP - Brasil
    got it!
    but .. there is something i can do to get working gsm & data?
    and too, something i can do about the language? i need pt-br. ):
  15. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  16. dopeskwyd
    Offline

    dopeskwyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kekaha, HI
    I had SS3 running SteelDroid no problem. To come back to Eclipse had to I install SS2.

    Sent from a thing using an app
  17. doogald
    Offline

    doogald Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Though I haven't tried this with Eclipse, you should be able to unzip the Eclipse ROM file. Unzip another ROM that boots in SS3 - SteelDroid, Maverick, Minimoto are examples - and copy the /etc/rootfs folder to the Eclipse folders that you unzipped, and rezip the file. That *should* work. I created an Eclipse 3.0 zip like that last night after reading your post; if I get time I'll try to install it and let you know how it goes.
  18. snodog
    Offline

    snodog New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I give up...
    I'm using Safestrap 3.05, which isn't supposed to work.
    Slot-1. multiple wipes of system, cache, dalvik, all no joy.
    black screen at boot.
    tried multiple downloads
    even tried replacing the /roofs folder from my Mavrom 4.5 rom.
    tried rezipping with winrar and Winzip and both yield an 'error' when flashing.
    So...
    I have a SS3 backup of Mavrom 4.5, which has always been good to me.

    Is there going to be another update to this ROM?
  19. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    Nope. The guy who ported this to the D3 has moved on to bigger and better things. Unless someone else comes along that decides to update this, it won't have any.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  20. doogald
    Offline

    doogald Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'll try to put together a signed zip with rootfs later tonight, after testing it out first, of course.
Search tags for this page

d3 eclipse

,
droid 3 android 3.0
,

droid 3 eclipse

,

droid 3 eclipse 3.0

,

droid 3 eclipse rom

,

eclipse 3.0 droid 3

,

eclipse droid 3

,

eclipse rom droid 3

,
eclipse rom for droid 3
,
eclipse v3.0
,
rom eclipse 3.0
,
rom eclipse milestone 3