[ROM] Eclipse JB for Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 ROMS' started by myfishbear, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. kenji91

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've been on it since the day it was uploaded... haven't noticed much of a difference but I'm not sure what differences I'm looking for.
     
  2. bofis

    bofis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Only differences seem to be a lot more files being removed, so if you haven't hit any stability issues I'd say that's a good sign! The less-crap, the better imo :)

    One observation is that this ROM retains the Motorola-unlock icon rather than the one that ICS Eclipse used (that I maybe preferred)
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  3. davidgro

    davidgro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I have been testing the flashed zip version since about Saturday and so far so good. (Except one little thing I'll note in the upload post).
    I'll attach the .zip files to this thread later tonight (They are on my laptop at home)
     
  4. davidgro

    davidgro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    SD Shuffle (JB Edition)

    (Re-)Introduction

    I think the way Motorola decided to do storage is terrible, by default /sdcard (and /mnt/sdcard) are one half of the Internal storage space (the other 8 GB being /system, /data, etc.), and (/mnt)/sdcard-ext is the "external" removable SDHC slot. Most apps that can access "the SD Card" can only access (/mnt)/sdcard including system apps such as the download manager.

    My solution

    I had already set as many apps as I could to use (/mnt)/sdcard-ext, so I didn't want to pull the rug out from under them. Instead I set All 4 locations (/mnt)/sdcard(-ext) to be the external card. The internal card I assigned to (/mnt)/sdcard-int
    this is the "sd-shuffle-jb.zip" mod, and it works great, except that all the ringtones and other media I have on the card show up twice. (at least it's not 4 times) and I can't tell which copy is which path using any of the music pickers I've seen so far (via Rings Extended). For images (and video) I fixed this by using QuickPic instead of the built in Gallery app. It has a setting to exclude directories.

    Alternative (EXPERIMENTAL and UNTESTED!)

    I also created a version that removes (/mnt)/sdcard-ext entirely and just leaves (/mnt)/sdcard as the external and (/mnt)/sdcard-int as the internal. I'd love to hear if it works (or if it brings down the system ;) )
    This is sd-shuffle-jb-no-ext.zip - it should at least solve the double-media problem.

    Reset

    And of course nothing that performs a drastic change to system files would be complete without a .zip to fix it back to stock. sd-unshuffle-jb.zip (Be sure not to use my old ICS version!)
    Each shuffle .zip also places the init.mapphone_cdma.rc.orig file in /system/etc/rootfs so you can manually change it back if you want too.

    So, this version was actually much easier to write than the ICS one, and is automatically compatible with SafeStrap 3.x, due to the way Android does storage in Jelly Bean. Google accidentally made my life easier, how about that. :)

    Thanks all!
     
  5. bofis

    bofis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I'm trying out your experimental no-ext patch and so far so good. Just had to manually tell Titanium Backup where the backup directory went, but nothing else seems to care one way or the other. Thank you for this, I've hated dealing with the two sd-card issue on this phone. I see that sd-card-internal still contains whatever was on the fake SD card, does anything look there or care about what is in there, or can I basically delete everything except the safestrap directory?
     
  6. davidgro

    davidgro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The system file I edited contains two environment variables, originally EXTERNAL_STORAGE pointed to the source of the Internal card, and SECONDARY_STORAGE pointed to the External. I swapped them. So there might be programs that use those, and if so then a small number of those now be pointing to the internal card. (I would hope that any such thing would be selectable.) I should try setting both to External :)

    It looks like internal Android stuff might also explicitly use the internal card still, I'm seeing .android_secure on my internal card with a modified data more recent than the swap.
     
  7. bofis

    bofis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, just some little Android system stuff makes sense and is fine, THANK YOU so much for this patch, I hated having to deal with 2 SD cards and some apps saving files into one download folder and not the other, while it THOUGHT it was saving to my sd-card. This frees up some space since my 64gb microSD card is certainly not filling up yet.
     
  8. SteeleDoes

    SteeleDoes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After some panic last night I fixed my phone. Sbf'd the ota jb thru fastboot. Installed ss 3.11 and flashed eclipse.... only problem I'm having now.... I cannot mound an sd card in safe mode or in my rom slots. My phone just acts as if it does have an option. Went into ss and I can't even click mount sd card. Anybody have any suggestions?
     
  9. SteeleDoes

    SteeleDoes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it seems that now it is asking me to format the card because it is unsupported format. I guess JB uses a new format perhaps? It is a 64 gb card that was working fine before. I guess my question now is, how the hell do I get the information off this card. Really a lot of photos I would absolutely hate to lose, hate hate hate!
     
  10. kenji91

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    JB does not use a different format than ICS. I would take the SD card out and try to put it in a reader (or a computer with a mini SD slot) and copy the files.

    I would NOT format the card until you do this. I've never formatted my SD card and I went from GB to ICS to JB with no issue.
     
  11. SteeleDoes

    SteeleDoes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so far I've tried putting it in other phones, no luck. I don't have an sdhc card reader, but I know somebody that may. It is definitely corrupt or something because it gets hot when put into my device. Problem here is I have photos and videos of the homemade persuasion that I just can't give up on. Any programs or readers somebody may reccommend? What would the steps be to repair it?
     
  12. kenji91

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    There's a number of data recovery/extraction programs out there that may or may not be able to assist you in saving your data. Unfortunately, it's tough to say whether or not you'll be able to - a lot of it depends on how badly (if at all) the card is damaged.
     
  13. enoell

    enoell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying to get this rom installed, im using ICS eclipse in rom slot 1 and when i install JB in slot 2 the boot just shows a black screen, wiped the rom and started over and same thing everytime, maybe a corrupt dl? install shows successful. trying 1.0.5
     
  14. myfishbear

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Ratings:
    +30
    install the kexec patch after the rom.
     
  15. enoell

    enoell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome thanks, do you still utilize setcpu with JB? my b if this has already been answered

    Also i dont see the option to turn off the 4g radio and just use 1X on the dragdown from the top, has this been relocated? that was imperative from your ICS rom to manage my battery to last for a few days.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2013
Search tags for this page

cdma maserati 9.8.2o-72 vzw-18 1ff.xml.zip

,

droid 4 eclipse

,

droid 4 eclipse jb

,

droid 4 eclipse rom

,

droid 4 roms

,

eclipse droid 4

,
eclipse droid 4 jb
,
eclipse jb
,
eclipse jb droid 4
,
eclipse jb rom