Easy root problems

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Dukes424, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. Dukes424
    Offline

    Dukes424 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I easy rooted my phone after installing froyo FRG01B which worked fine and all, but with being unsatisfied with that glitchy garbage and extremely new to the rooted game I was gonna take it slow and just upgrade to the FRG22 build. Well, like a total newb I was going to update it just by placing the frg22 in the root of my phone and update it that way, well somehow I ended up just rewriting the frg01b build on my rooted droid. It still shows me as rooted (I have superuser permissions and easy root shows 'I'm already rooted') But none of the rooted apps I have work. I tried unrooting myself but it doesnt seem to work. It'll show the message real quick that i'm unrooted and to reboot but right after it disappears the message you're already rooted comes back up. And of course, on the reboot I see the same results. I do wish to be rooted again so I can get this frg01b crap off due to home screen freezes and battery life is way down now. Any insight or help??
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I haven't used Easy Root yet, I just use the method of using RSD lite to get SPRecovery on my phone and then apply whatever rom I want.

    When you reboot your phone while holding down the X key do you end up in the SPRecovery screen? (screenshot of it in the first post of the 3rd link in my signature)

    If you are then you can just flash whatever rom you want. For the latest 2.2 follow the first link in my signature.
  3. Dukes424
    Offline

    Dukes424 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does not come up w/ SPRecovery, just the stock. Do you think that I'm even rooted still? I still have my permissions icon even after 'unrooting' but drocap, rom manager ect. doesn't work anymore.
  4. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    The superuser app can be present without having root powers.

    Another test of root is to download the "android Terminal emulator" which once downloaded will be named Terminal Emulator and see if a su typed at the prompt gives you a # symbol. It does seem like you lost root.

    Will Rom Manager let you flash Clockwork again? If not root is gone.

    You can try the Easy Root tool again (doesn't sound so easy anymore does it?) Or use RSD Lite to flash SPrecovery back onto your phone. That will let you then flash a rooted rom. From there you can go back to using Rom Manager or just flash roms using SPRecovery, your option. Links for rsd lite are in my signature.
  5. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    I've seen many easy root problems.

    The link in my sig talks about this and also has the link christim was sending you to.
  6. Dukes424
    Offline

    Dukes424 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I downloaded RSD lite and the drivers on my PC, will the SPRecovery work for my situation with 2.2 01b?
  7. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    using RSD Lite to flash SPrecovery is a real simple procedure. As long as you have plenty of charge on your phone, and you don't unplug it when you are not supposed to you will be fine.
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    There have been reported issues with trying it on 2.2.
    Just use RSD to flash the 2.0.1 sbf then reboot, skip the google sign in and then flash the SPR sbf.
  9. Dukes424
    Offline

    Dukes424 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If i'm reading correctly in other forums it seems that flashing to 2.0.1 deactivates your phone. Is that true? and if so how do you reactivate it?
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Many times when you flash various roms you need to resign in with your phone. You boot up, see a large android guy saying "push me" and you start the activation process. It may auto dial and activate the phone and you may also have to sign into gmail. Real painless process we've all gone through multiple times.
  11. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Deactivating means you will have to sign into your google account. No big deal. Sign into your google account and you will be back to normal after the 2.0.1 flash. Then just update to 2.1

    I have used easy root on a friends phone over dinner one night just to see how it worked. Quite simple if you understand the root process. I remember easy root having a tool to "unroot" have you tried that?
  12. Dukes424
    Offline

    Dukes424 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

android root didn't work

,

srs one click root didn't work