Easy root for Thunderbolt on OSX

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by freedomBolt, Apr 8, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easy root from OSX

    Download is below the video on youtube


    Sorry for the delay on the video. He by mistake uploaded the wrong one and is now uploading this one. So give it a couple hours.


    Fixed. If you are getting a adb command not found error. Redownload the big file or download the runmefix.zip (http://www.fryetech.com/runmefix.zip) uncompress the file and put runme in the thunderbolt directory of your desktop.
    If you download the big file after April 9th 2011 at 7:30am then you do not need this fix
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  2. Droid Eye
    Offline

    Droid Eye New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    We need a PC version!
  3. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Download is below the video on youtube
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  4. Javaknight
    Offline

    Javaknight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Come on people, go click 'Like' :icon_ banana:
  5. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its done. video and files being uploaded now!
  6. sms160
    Offline

    sms160 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for making the video. The thunderbolt is my first android phone so I have never rooted before. This looks really easy, hopefully everything goes right.
  7. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If anyone needs support contact fryetech on youtube
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  8. LittleLebowski
    Offline

    LittleLebowski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couldn't find the phone after the first reboot, no matching hash sum. Retrying.....
  9. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Mac or Windows?
  10. LittleLebowski
    Offline

    LittleLebowski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mac. I think my USB is wonky. After each stage, I'm having to disconnect and reconnect my phone. That's the only way I've gotten the flashing/uploading to work. Midway through 3rd attempt....
  11. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine if I ask which OSX you are using and which Mac?

    Trying to fix any issues that comes up.

    Glade you made it through
  12. LittleLebowski
    Offline

    LittleLebowski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using a last gen MacBook Pro and the latest released and patched version of OS X. Then I switched to a newer MBP and the same OS. This time, everything seemed to work perfectly yet Superuser app doesn't seem to do anything at all and Titanium backup informs me that I am not rooted. Guess I'm going to go with the manual approach. Frustrating.
  13. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to reboot after running this.

    When did you download? There was a bug in one of the released yesterday but was fixed very quickly. Maybe you got one that had the bug.

    If not. Then try running it again.
  14. freedomBolt
    Offline

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also if anyone has issues let them know fryetech.com
    They will work with you.
  15. LittleLebowski
    Offline

    LittleLebowski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used a fresh copy downloaded at 10AM this morning. It finished up and said "Done, press enter to exit." I don't have root according to Titanium Backup.
Search tags for this page

how too root htc thunderbolt with macosx

,
one button android root for osx
,

root htc thunderbolt with mac

,

root thunderbolt mac

,

root thunderbolt os x

,
thunderbolt root files mac