Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by marty45714, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. Hotphyer
    Offline

    Hotphyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you for the speedy response, i will do it tomorrow i already have the updated script loaded in VM virtual box.

    You are AWESOME!!!!! dancedroid

    Ill update tomorrow with my results.


     
  2. swagramp
    Offline

    swagramp New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Issues with the SMB share

    I have run everything as instructed but it does not give an ip address for the smb share in the linux vm. I've had issues connecting my phone to smb shares previously so I dont know if this is related.
     
  3. marty45714
    Offline

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    No, not related to your phone. This would be a problem with VirtualBox networking. You're going to have to dork around with the network configuration in VirtualBox. Make sure it installed the VirtualBox network drivers, etc. Once you get the network configuration corrected, it will show an IP address when it boots up.

     
  4. winslow1337
    Offline

    winslow1337 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just followed every step like it says. It worked. My droid bionic is rooted. Thank you very much.
     
  5. swagramp
    Offline

    swagramp New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much! Turns out that VirtualBox defaulted to hamachi and everything worked out great once I got onto the proper network. Great work and thanks for the prompt reply! :hail:
    edit: Unfortunately the root was unsuccessful on my phone -.(\ I'll take it that I'm one of those people who shouldnt be rooting their phone :(
     
  6. 7779311mm
    Offline

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    marty45714,

    Do you know if this tool/process will work on Droid Razr Maxx with the new Jelly Bean update?
     
  7. shhendri
    Offline

    shhendri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]
    Both the terminal and the phone show connection. Within the phone I can actually see the shared files.

    [​IMG]

    Seems to show a directory issue.
     
  8. Jfulton
    Offline

    Jfulton New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question

    So, If I'm reading this correctly, I install this Virtual Box on my pc using a windows application, and then use the commands that have been previously released for unbunto? Sorry if I sound newbie, but this process has been confusing for me. Thank you in advance
    Happy Bionic Owner
     
  9. 7779311mm
    Offline

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, do exactly as advised in marty45714's original instructions on page 1 of this thread. He's simplified it a little more. Worked flawless for me.
     
  10. boojiboy
    Offline

    boojiboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    Just wanted to say thank you. After the update on my phone I lost root, and my old oneclick method didn't work. Followed instructions here and I'm back in control of my phone. Big thanks once again.
     
  11. lfegerber
    Offline

    lfegerber New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All...I seem to have the same problem as the picture below. It states that /system/bin/sh not found. My phone never rebooted when it says "your phone may appear to reboot"
    [QUOTE

    =shhendri;2419783][​IMG]
     
  12. shhendri
    Offline

    shhendri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is starting to make sense to me
    [​IMG]

    having an issue being directed to the correct file

    I helped it find the way
    [​IMG]

    My phone is currently vibrating up a storm right now (being rooted)

    I'll keep you posted as to what happens.


    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/images/smilies/dancingnexus.gif
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/images/smilies/dancingDroid.gif

    IT WORKED!!!! Now have root
     
  13. Hotphyer
    Offline

    Hotphyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey Marty...I have gotten the network issues figured out, the jetpacks wont work, im at my parents and everything seems to work great.

    The problem im having it stated success and notice phone will reboot and dont panic. But my phone isnt rebooting. I believe everything is set up correctly.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Seems like the same as the 2 posts above, is the path file the same as above in this case i see he as a razr
     
  14. RETUSAFNCO
    Offline

    RETUSAFNCO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You have to load a remote storage. Go to files, click on remote storage then add storage. You have to know your IP address. The remaining steps are self explanatory. Don't forget to click on USB debugging in settings.
     
  15. ReFlex
    Offline

    ReFlex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I got it to work. Not sure if this matters, but here's what I did differently.

    Instead of doing su - like you asked, I accidentally went past the point of putting in the previous commands and it went through with rooting the device.

    When it restarted the first time, on the eye it vibrates 3 times. I always let it boot up before I did anything else, except this time I went ahead and hit enter to continue right after it vibrated three times and before the phone finished restarting. The phone restarted and now my phone is rooted.

    Guess it was user error all along, thanks a lot OP :p
     
Search tags for this page
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic jelly bean root
,

droid bionic root

,

how to root droid bionic

,
how to root droid bionic 4.1.2
,
root bionic
,

root bionic 4.1.2

,
root bionic jb.ova
,

root droid bionic

,
root droid bionic jelly bean