Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by marty45714, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. shhendri

    shhendri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    here is the screen capture after running those commands
    Linux Minimal_3.png
     
  2. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a couple of thoughts:
    1) Is there any chance that you have more than one entry on your phone in the Remote Storages section? If you do, that could cause the SMB share to be mounted to /storage/rfs1 or somewhere other than where it should mount which is /storage/rfs0.
    2) Did you type everything EXACTLY as it's shown on the Linux console, leaving no trailing spaces on any words and typing "MYGROUP" in all caps?

    Try both of those. In the meantime, I'm going to try to write some more logic into the scripts and re-upload everything again to make the process even more full-proof.

     
  3. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well, that doesn't quite help because there needs to be a space between "cd" and "/" on your first command. That typo screwed up the whole sequence of commands. LOL!

     
  4. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    UPDATE 5/1/2013 - New and improved .ova file. Contains improved logic in the exploit script to help with some of the problems that have been encountered by users.
    If you've had trouble rooting, please download the new version and try again!
     
  5. Hotphyer

    Hotphyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    So i have a few quesitons, I have everything set-up right, i have linux script running on my laptop, i plug the phone into the laptop.

    when i do the simple steps, and trying to "add storage" it states Network Error

    So with that, im running my internet off a verizon jetpack at the moment, ( i live in the boonies, but have 4g with 8mbps speed). My IP with this tends to show a location 250 miles away.

    Do you think that could be the problem? im going to try it at my parents house with a actual router, but it seems i cant get it to work for the moment ill update on progress tomorrow.
     
  6. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah, you really need the phone and the PC running the Linux VM to be on the same network segment so that the phone can talk to the PC's IP address on port 445. The ideal thing is to have the phone connected to a wireless router and have your PC either connected to that same WIFI or connected by Ethernet cable to that same router.

     
  7. Hotphyer

    Hotphyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you for the speedy response, i will do it tomorrow i already have the updated script loaded in VM virtual box.

    You are AWESOME!!!!! dancedroid

    Ill update tomorrow with my results.


     
  8. swagramp

    swagramp New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Issues with the SMB share

    I have run everything as instructed but it does not give an ip address for the smb share in the linux vm. I've had issues connecting my phone to smb shares previously so I dont know if this is related.
     
  9. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    No, not related to your phone. This would be a problem with VirtualBox networking. You're going to have to dork around with the network configuration in VirtualBox. Make sure it installed the VirtualBox network drivers, etc. Once you get the network configuration corrected, it will show an IP address when it boots up.

     
  10. winslow1337

    winslow1337 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just followed every step like it says. It worked. My droid bionic is rooted. Thank you very much.
     
  11. swagramp

    swagramp New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much! Turns out that VirtualBox defaulted to hamachi and everything worked out great once I got onto the proper network. Great work and thanks for the prompt reply! :hail:
    edit: Unfortunately the root was unsuccessful on my phone -.(\ I'll take it that I'm one of those people who shouldnt be rooting their phone :(
     
  12. 7779311mm

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    marty45714,

    Do you know if this tool/process will work on Droid Razr Maxx with the new Jelly Bean update?
     
Search tags for this page
bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic jelly bean root
,

droid bionic root

,

how to root droid bionic

,
root bionic
,
root bionic jb.ova
,
root bionic jelly bean
,

root droid bionic

,
root droid bionic jelly bean