Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by marty45714, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    New link. See original post. I have it on Mediafire now as well as dropbox.
     
  2. 7779311mm

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    marty45714 THANKS! But will this script depend on the Mot ADB Interface driver? If so, it's a no go for me...I can't get my PC to recognize that driver.
     
  3. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    You may be in luck. I DON'T think it does. I installed VirtualBox today on a workstation WITHOUT Motorola or ADB drivers, and once it installed the USB VirtualBox driver, it worked. So I do not believe it is necessary to install any of the phone related Windows drivers.

     
  4. 7779311mm

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    AWESOME! Did you mean that your .ova 'included' VirtualBox or do I have to d/l it from another source? One of your original links is dead.
     
  5. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    You still need to download and install VirtualBox first. Just Google "Oracle VirtualBox". It will be the first result.

     
  6. 7779311mm

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This one? VirtualBox 4.2.12 for Windows hosts ; It says x86...Will it also install and run on x64 OS? Hope I'm not breaking any rules for posting this link: https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
     
  7. 7779311mm

    7779311mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ladies and gentlemen I report that we have a root...I repeat, WE HAVE A ROOT on my Droid Bionic running the new Jelly Bean OS v! And a big ol' phat THANK YOU:hail: to marty45714 for this extremely simplified script for those of us that know nothing aboutLinux.

    Here are the steps that he set forth and I followed:

    1) Install Sun VirtualBox on your Windows PC.

    2) Download the VirtualBox .ova file here:
    Root_Bionic_JB.ova

    3) Import the .ova file into VirtualBox. (Click "File" then "Import Appliance".)

    4) Start the imported VM in VirtualBox (Click the big "Start" Button. It has a green arrow icon.)

    5) Follow the instructions on the Linux console.

    That should do it. If you need help I will be monitoring this thread.

    Here's where I downloaded VirtualBox 4.2.12 for Windows hosts: https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads . It says x86 but will also run on a x64 windows OS as well.
     
  8. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Glad it worked, and glad I could help. Don't forget that Dan Rosenberg @djrbliss is responsible for writing this code that performs the exploit and gives us root!

     
  9. shhendri

    shhendri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Linux Minimal_3.png

    It states storage isn't found
     
  10. shhendri

    shhendri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    here is the screen capture after running those commands
    Linux Minimal_3.png
     
  11. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have a couple of thoughts:
    1) Is there any chance that you have more than one entry on your phone in the Remote Storages section? If you do, that could cause the SMB share to be mounted to /storage/rfs1 or somewhere other than where it should mount which is /storage/rfs0.
    2) Did you type everything EXACTLY as it's shown on the Linux console, leaving no trailing spaces on any words and typing "MYGROUP" in all caps?

    Try both of those. In the meantime, I'm going to try to write some more logic into the scripts and re-upload everything again to make the process even more full-proof.

     
  12. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Well, that doesn't quite help because there needs to be a space between "cd" and "/" on your first command. That typo screwed up the whole sequence of commands. LOL!

     
  13. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    UPDATE 5/1/2013 - New and improved .ova file. Contains improved logic in the exploit script to help with some of the problems that have been encountered by users.
    If you've had trouble rooting, please download the new version and try again!
     
  14. Hotphyer

    Hotphyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    So i have a few quesitons, I have everything set-up right, i have linux script running on my laptop, i plug the phone into the laptop.

    when i do the simple steps, and trying to "add storage" it states Network Error

    So with that, im running my internet off a verizon jetpack at the moment, ( i live in the boonies, but have 4g with 8mbps speed). My IP with this tends to show a location 250 miles away.

    Do you think that could be the problem? im going to try it at my parents house with a actual router, but it seems i cant get it to work for the moment ill update on progress tomorrow.
     
  15. marty45714

    marty45714 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yeah, you really need the phone and the PC running the Linux VM to be on the same network segment so that the phone can talk to the PC's IP address on port 445. The ideal thing is to have the phone connected to a wireless router and have your PC either connected to that same WIFI or connected by Ethernet cable to that same router.

     
Search tags for this page
bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic jelly bean root
,

droid bionic root

,

how to root droid bionic

,
how to root droid bionic 4.1.2
,
root bionic
,
root bionic jb.ova
,

root droid bionic

,
root droid bionic jelly bean