Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by marty45714, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Make sure you have the latest moto drivers installed on your computer and be sure to reboot it if you have just installed

    Baked Nexus 10
  2. albertazzo
    Offline

    albertazzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Udine (Italy)
    I also have sort of the same kind of problems:
    1) when I connect the XT910 to my PC (Win7) or to my MAC (MacBook Air) the XT190 does not show up although I hear a notification sound (I turned on/off Debug USB, Mass Storage, MTP...) but no results

    2) When I connect the device and I run RSD Lite the XT910 gets recognized :-/

    3) When I launch VM I cannot get any host IP address (neither on Win nor on Mac, although my router is set on DHCP)

    I have tried several times what's written in the forum but couldn't sort this out! :blink:

    Any advice?

    Alberto
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Smartphone: Motorola RAZR XT910
    ROM: 982.124.14.XT910.Retail.en.EU
    Kernel: 3.0.8-g7198280 hudsoncm@il93lnxdroid84 #1 SMP PREEMPT
  3. Thostifer
    Offline

    Thostifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No Gapps

    First off thanks for the instructions and all the support this great community provides!! I performed the steps and all seemed to have went well... however I have no access to Play Store... any counsel for a newb?
  4. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i dont know a lot about how this program works (although i have used it) so im not sure i can help you.

    for #3, what your saying is, in the script, it gets to the screen where it displays the host etc for you to put in the phone and those fields are blank?
  5. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    try going to settings/apps/all/google playstore and uninstall updates, clear cache, delete data , then reboot and see if its fixed.
  6. albertazzo
    Offline

    albertazzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Udine (Italy)
    #3:
    Yes, exactly!

    Host IP Address is blank! (I tried several times...)

    All other fields are correct (Domain, Shared folder, User, Password show up and are as expected).

  7. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    try reading through this thread a bit Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean) - xda-developers
    there seems to be a lot of good information there.
  8. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Did you go to files and setup SMB?
  9. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    it is my understanding that he cant do that, because vm wont give him the host ip to enter in the setup.
  10. albertazzo
    Offline

    albertazzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Udine (Italy)
    Exactly, it's supposed to be kind of one-click-method, so I cannot edit the files...

    Anyway I will read that thread...

  11. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    If VM isn't picking it up, couldn't you just hit cntrl and type it in? (check your wifi properties on your pc and manualy enter the ip address your pc is on)? Whatever ip address his pc is on should be reflected in VM when he starts it...I don't see how he doesn't have any ip address displayed in VM...should just have to go to files on his bionic and setup the smb to get the "easy root" not "one click" started...
  12. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    im far from an expert at this, so i read through some of the post on xda, then suggested he read through it when i saw some info that could be helpful.
    im sure there are ways around this problem as you suggest. i just dont know how to do it without looking it up, that's why i didn't make any direct suggestions.

    the process worked fine for me, im just trying to help out where i can.
  13. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Hey no problems, it just sounded like the issue wasn't with VM but instead what he/she is seeing on VM, if he's using wifi then he should be getting on ip to his pc and another to his phone, then using files to get smb and begin to run the exploit....but for an ip not to show up in the VM? If that's the case you should be able to just type it in and still be able to get the bionic and pc linked, if the connection is there which is easily testable then he is just feeling stuck at VM not detecting the ip number which seems to be easy to fix manually...
  14. albertazzo
    Offline

    albertazzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Udine (Italy)
    In the end I decided to use the linux method as with VM I had the same Host IP address missing both on my Mac and on my Win and I could not sort that out.


  15. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i would be surprised if you got the Linux method to work at all. i literally spent 6-8 hours trying to get it working, read dozens of forums/post, and tried dozens more suggestions.
    the problem is, the very first file you need, lib 32 (or whatever it is), has since been merged and obsoleted (on the couple Linux os i tried, yes i tried more than one). if you cant load that, it cant work from my experience.
    i was kinda mad at all the time i spent on a non working solution after i found the vm method, and had it rooted in 20 minutes.
Search tags for this page
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,

droid bionic root

,
droid bionic root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid bionic

,
how to root droid bionic 4.1.2
,
root bionic
,

root bionic 4.1.2

,

root droid bionic

,

root droid bionic 4.1.2

,
root droid bionic jelly bean