Easy Root for Bionic Stock 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by marty45714, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. lgalcarte

    lgalcarte Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I held off with the JB update as long as I could. Now that this easy root method was available, I finally decided to bite the bullet. IT WORKED FLAWLESSLY!!! Thank you!! =)
     
  2. makoti

    makoti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok. This is going to sound like dumb question, but I'd like to get my root back, so...I've read where some had issues getting this to work the first try. What happens to your phone if the install fails? Does it go back to its previous state (stock JB)? Or is it in some sort of limbo unless you do something to get it back there? In a nutshell: If the install fails, can I still use the phone while I figure it out?
     
  3. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    If the root install fails you just won't be rooted. Nothing else happens
     
  4. makoti

    makoti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Excellent! Now I can give this a try & not be such a chicken. Thanks!
     
  5. makoti

    makoti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    And...rooted! Third time was a charm. Only problems I ran into was basic not reading the instructions closely enough & setting the phone up for MTP. I couldn't (still can't) find that setting without plugging in my USB, so I had to plug in, change it, and start over. My only remaining question is should I put the phone back as a mass storage device or leave it in MTP? And I can't thank marty45714 for this and deduct for the help enough. :hail:
     
  6. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    Congrats. Just leave it in mtp. Don't make a difference
     
  7. dewie68

    dewie68 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting the "Network Error, There is a problem in your network connection with remore host. Please repair your network..." I also get the error when I start the machine up that states there is an error with my PCI connection about the 100/mb thing... Sorry for being vague lol. I've really tried a lot of things, I have no clue what to do. I was able to connect to the SMB via my computer and access the files but no other way.
     
  8. Suuperflie

    Suuperflie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you tried restarting your computer since downloading and installing the files? I was getting the same error until i restarted my computer.
     
  9. jagnth

    jagnth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked on my Bionic

    Thanks for posting this tutorial. I had lost root during the jellybean update so have been checking the 'How To: Root your Motorola DROID Bionic' thread occasionally for updated methods, and saw the recent post by 'chuck54' directing me here.

    Very easy steps, especially with previous virtual machine experience.
    One thing to note is that it appears to be important to hit the volume up, down or power while the device appears to be rebooting.
    The first time I attempted this, I wasn't paying attention to the process and my phone completed the false reboot, and I hit the vol up/down after it had completed. It wasn't rooted.

    The second time I hit the buttons right when the virtual tiny linux machine said to, which happened to be at the same time the phone was displaying the typical reboot animation. I didn't see any notifications when hitting the buttons, yet afterwards I had root access again.
     
  10. sagex21

    sagex21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran the program, and everything seemed to work, the VM told me it was successful. But then I check my phone, and I don't have root.

    Others in the thread have had the problem, and resolved it by simply running it an extra few times. I've now run it over 10 times, to not avail.

    The network settings are fine (pings work in both directions, and the VM confirms correct connection over WIFI), the USB connection looks good (recognized by VM), the installation looks like it goes through normally, I hit the volume up button as soon as it tells me to (I've tried volume down and power buttons as well, as well as various combinations of these). Then, the VM tells me to let it reboot the phone, the phone reboots, but Superuser tells me that "The Superuser binary (su) must be updated. Please choose an installation method..." Then, I hit install, and it says "There was an error installing Superuser. Please send a log of the error to the developer." (but it doesn't actually generate a log so idk what's up with that either).

    I've tried reinstalling the VM, I've redownloaded .ova file, and I've tried multiple USB ports on my computer. I'm at a loss for what else to do. Any ideas?
     
  11. PsychoticElf

    PsychoticElf New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I could help but the problem I'm having still hasn't been fixed...i finally gave up lol if you look back in the thread there are some trouble shooting codes if you wasn't to try those =/
     
  12. sagex21

    sagex21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    More info on my problem:
    I tried running the same test that shhendri ran on page 4 of this forum as recommended by OP. Here's the pic of his results: Linux 2 Photo by shhendri | Photobucket taken from his post.
    It is obvious from there that he types in the command ./adb.linux share BEFORE he plugs in his phone by USB (because it fails to find the device in response, and four lines down it shows him plugging in the USB device). However, regardless, typing in that command causes the daemon to launch.
    When I tried the exact same thing, I got this result: http://i.imgur.com/oEx2JvH.png
    The daemon fails to launch even though I typed in the command exactly like the other user before I plugged in the phone (exactly like him). Can anyone with more knowledge than me diagnose what is actually going on here?
     
Search tags for this page
bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,
droid bionic jelly bean root
,

droid bionic root

,

how to root droid bionic

,
root bionic
,
root bionic jb.ova
,
root bionic jelly bean
,

root droid bionic

,
root droid bionic jelly bean