Easy 1-2-3 Root Process for D2 (Windows/Linux and Mac coming soon)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by darkonion, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

    I spent the better half of the evening working on writing a simplified way to root the D2. I have two sets of instructions now available. It is pretty simple.

    You install and update ADB/SDK. You install the Motorola drivers (if you are on Windows).

    You go into command line, run part1, then open adb shell, and run part 2, and then after you get kicked out, run the shell again, and run part 3. And that's it, you are rooted. You enter a total of maybe 6 or 7 commands, and simple commands at that.

    Cruise over to XDA Developers and check out my thread.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=782556
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  2. sziehr
    Offline

    sziehr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Ratings:
    +1
    Linky no worky
     
  3. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it took mea while but I got the SDK installed and working through terminal, im' SUPER new at this so i'm feeling my way out via youtube videos and step-by-step instructions lol.

    I plug my phone in and my computer claims to not recognize my "device" is this normal?

    also after running ./doroot1.sh the terminal has "device not found" all over it



    any ideas? Is this normal?
    Thanks in advanced :)
     
  5. grimmy
    Offline

    grimmy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you turn on USB Debugging?
     
  6. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha no... my d2 shows the USB symbol in the notification bar and gives me these choices pc mode, windows media sync, usb mass storage, charge only. if there's a debug choice, where would it be?
     
  7. grimmy
    Offline

    grimmy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings > Applications > Development> Check the USB debugging
     
  8. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah! Thank you very much, sir.
     
  9. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Next issue....

     
  10. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I know what is wrong with your thing. Just hang tight. We are working on easier scripts!
     
  11. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    <3 thanks darkonion. I'm really excited to get this baby rooted. I'm hoping for a really nice stock rom, or even a rom that's mostly stock with a few blur features left in it.
     
  12. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you are in USB mass storage device mode. That is why you can't access your SD card.
     
  13. CrypticDroid
    Offline

    CrypticDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're correct. I put into charge only mode which got me further but i'm stuck again:

     
  14. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey. I am going to PM you my google talk. Add me and then come get me. Also, download team viewer. I want you to test my new something for me.

    -Kevin
     
  15. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
Search tags for this page
4 root 123
,
123 droid 2 root
,

123 root

,
download easier 1-2-3 droid 2 root
,
droid 2 easy root
,
easier 1-2-3 droid 2 root
,
easier 1-2-3 droid 2 root mac
,
error 05: failed to copy superuser.apk
,

failed to copy superuser.apk

,
failed to copy superuser.apk to /sdcard/superuser.apk permis