*Easiest* way to get back to stock (No root, no busybox)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Berzerker, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. tats_06

    tats_06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    http://www.mydroidworld.com
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good idea...cause when I tried this first a few days ago...I was still rooted :D
     
  2. Womp

    Womp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my Droid the other day, installed SPRecovery, then decided I simply didn't see anything that made me want to keep it rooted anymore and I guess I had a little bit of uncertainty and paranoia to go along with it for good measure. So I followed the directions in this thread to unroot it, everything worked great and the phone seems to be working as it did and before I rooted, however I noticed when I now go into my stock Android recovery down towards the middle bottom of the screen I have " E: cant find /cache/recovery/command " in yellow text.

    I don't recall seeing this before, such as when I did the manual 2.01 update...Is it something I should be worried about?

    Thanks.
     
  3. m21knight

    m21knight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to build a current version image of my system the way it is now. This way I could set everything the way I like it, make an image, then fool around as much as I want and then restore when I screw something up. This is a feature that iTunes has that really hellped the iPhone Jailbreakers.
     
  4. jdougal

    jdougal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I attempted to return to stock and something went wrong. My phone now boots to the red eye/droid intro and then goes black. It does nothing until I pull the battery and then repeats. Can anyone provide some assistance?
     
  5. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you boot into recovery? If so, try applying the update again.
     
  6. LordieJJ

    LordieJJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    srry but the Nexus picture thing wen u start it up is still there, that mean its still rooted?
     
  7. ZX-10R

    ZX-10R Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    back to how i had it..
    Thanks...
     
  8. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, remove the boot animation from /data/local using Astro or another app, or adb.
     
  9. zx10intn

    zx10intn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im trying to recover using this method and running into a problem... when i get to the point where sprecovery tries to restore it, is fails and says E:Cant open /sdcard/update.zip(no such file or directory) installation aborted. any ideas?

    edit: nvmd, i renamed the file from update.zip to just update and it seems to have found the file as it is updating as we speak.
     
  10. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great job Berzerker! Working as designed man. :rockon:
     
  11. phreek

    phreek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked perfectly, much respect!
     
  12. dunamis

    dunamis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did the process and I think I'm back to stock...however, at bootup I still have the animation of BB. So, it's not completely stock.....any suggestions?
     
  13. dunamis

    dunamis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you first of all for this help...

    however, I check under /data but there's no local or anything.

    I do see a bootanimation.zip in
    sd/tools/

    I still have the BB startup animation......can you help?
     
  14. naman919

    naman919 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    delete the bootanimation.zip in the sd/tools folder. android will then default back to the stock bootanimation.

    *are you checking in the data/locals folder on your phone and not sd card?
     
  15. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    that is cause it is looking for sprecovery which is no longer there
     
Search tags for this page
android uninstalled busybox unable to boot
,
doid 1 back to stock
,

droid 3 back to stock

,

flash droid 3 back to stock

,
how to get droid incredible back to stock settings
,
how to uninstall busybox completely droid x
,
uninstall busybox
,

uninstall busybox android

,
uninstall busybox manually#q
,
verizon droid incredible 2 back to stock