Easier way to force 1X instead of dialing *#*#4636#*#*

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cain, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. cain

    cain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone out there know a way to force 1X (instead of 3G) to conserve on battery life? I find during my tests that my battery lasts much longer than sticking to 3G. I'd rather not dial *#*#4636#*#* (*#*#INFO#*#*) and go through a few clicks to switch to CDMA only to force 1X.

    Any takers? :)
     
  2. tula

    tula New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm also looking the way to do that cain ...

    but, weirdly, in my area, evdo signal is more than 1x signal, pretty weird ....
     
  3. AtrusNex

    AtrusNex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Asheville NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read elsewhere that there is an application that allows you to make shortcuts for these kinds of things. I currently don't remember the application name, but if I do I'll post it up here.
     
  4. cain

    cain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is one application that can access the Phone Info section without dialing *#*#INFO#*#* - the app name is "SwitchPan". However, you have to click on the shortcut, then on "data" then you're in the Phone Info section.

    I wish there was a toggle widget that can just switch between Preferred network types.
     
  5. AtrusNex

    AtrusNex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Asheville NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll be happy to know that CyanogenMod RC3 now supports this toggle in it's new power control widget.
     
  6. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I saw that function in some power control widgets also.
     
Search tags for this page
*#*#4636#*#* droid x
,

android force 1x

,
android force evdo
,
force 1x
,

force 1x android

,
force android 1x
,
force android to 1x
,
force android to use 1x
,
force evdo android
,
force phone to use 1x not 3g