E-mail on Droid Charge and at home on Thunderbird

brandonsmash

Reaction score
First off: I'm new to both this forum and Android devices. I recently upgraded to a Droid Charge from a Blackberry Storm. So far I'm rather pleased, with a few glaring issues (the first and foremost being that there was no factory way to remove pre-installed bloatware apps!); I'm still working out the kinks, but just ran into a major one I can't seem to find solved in fora.

I have the phone mostly set up for how I want to use it, but I've noticed I'm having some problems with e-mail.
Namely, sometimes I leave my desktop at home running my e-mail client (Mozilla Thunderbird). I would like e-mail to all of my accounts (3 GMail, configured for POP and 1 private domain [also POP]) to arrive at both my computer and the phone. This wasn't a problem with the Blackberry; at one point I did have to tell the Blackberry to quit syncing messages as read to the desktop, but I always received e-mails to both devices.

Now, after having set up my Droid Charge with my e-mail accounts, if my desktop e-mail client is running I don't get any e-mails to my phone. Well, sort of. It's inconsistent. It appears that some test e-mails I sent from/to my own e-mail addresses with Thunderbird arrived at both devices with Thunderbird open, and e-mail I sent to myself with GMail's webmail with Thunderbird closed arrived (though it takes 5 minutes? Really? Even with push?). However, I received a work e-mail this morning (this is important!) and it arrived to my desktop just fine but NOT my mobile (this is very bad). It doesn't show up on the Droid Charge in either the email app or the gmail app, even when I do a manual refresh. In fact, to get the info to my phone I had to log into gmail webmail on the computer and forward it to myself. WTF?